Primary Resources
- Indigenous Histories and Cultures in North America This link opens in a new windowManuscripts, artwork, and rare printed books that provide unique insight into interactions between American Indians and Europeans from their earliest contact right up to the civil rights movement. Sourced from the Newberry Library’s Edward E. Ayer Collection.
- American West This link opens in a new windowOriginal manuscripts, maps, ephemera and rare printed sources from the Newberry Library. Explores frontier life, indigenous, and environmental impact on westward expansion.
- Indigenous Peoples: North America This link opens in a new windowManuscripts, book collections, newspapers from various tribe and Indian-related organizations; materials such as Bibles, dictionaries and primers in Indigenous languages.
- Travel Writing, Spectacle, and World History This link opens in a new windowWomen's travel diaries and correspondence describe the travel experience and offer first hand accounts of major historical events as reported by eye witnesses, detailing key interests and themes in women’s lives, providing snapshots of cities, cultures and customs, and charting the rise of modern tourism and the travel industry.
- History Vault This link opens in a new windowIncludes segments on:
-Southern Life, Slavery, and the Civil War
-American Indians and the American West, 1809-1971
Digitized letters, papers, photographs, scrapbooks, financial records, diaries, and other primary source materials. • American Indians and the American West • American Politics and Society • Civil Rights and the Black Freedom Struggle • International Relations and Military Conflicts • Southern Life, Slavery, and the Civil War • Women's Studies • Workers and Labor Unions - EEBO - Early English Books Online This link opens in a new windowDigital facsimile page images of virtually every work printed in English from 1473-1700.
- Sabin Americana This link opens in a new windowBooks, pamphlets, serials and other works about the Americas, through the early 1900s. Original accounts of exploration, trade, colonialism, slavery and abolition, the western movement, Native Americans, military actions, etc.
- Oxford Bibliographies This link opens in a new windowLiterary guide to significant sources on a variety of subjects. Works as an annotated bibliography and a high-level encyclopedia.
- Eighteenth-Century Collections Online (ECCO)English and foreign-language titles printed in the UK and works from the Americas from 1701-1800.
- Making of the Modern World This link opens in a new windowDigital facsimile images of unique primary sources that track the development of the modern, western world through the lens of trade and wealth. History, political science, social conditions, technology and industry, economics, area studies, etc.
- U. S. Congressional Serial Set (1817-1979) - Readex This link opens in a new windowHouse and Senate Documents and the House and Senate Reports. For political, social, cultural, military and ethnic history, international relations, travel, commerce, industrial development, etc.
- Farmworker Movement Documentation ProjectArchives of United Farmworkers 1962-1993.
Latin American Travelogues
The goal of this project is to create a digital collection of Latin American travel accounts written in the 16th-19th centuries. The works selected are linked to critical essays produced by undergraduate students who are enrolled in Prof. Green's courses on Latin American history. This site will serve as a free-access visual and research tool for students and scholars alike.
PARES - Portal de Archivos Españoles
Contains digital documents from a variety of archives in Spain. Maintained by the Spanish government.
Finding Primary Sources on Library Catalog
- Go to Advanced Search in the online catalog
- enter the keyword sources or personal narratives or diaries
- enter terms related to your topic
- Find Subject Headings in the "details" of relevant books related to your topic that include words such as "sources, "personal narratives," "pictorial," or "diaries". Click on those headings for more books on that topic.
Images
- Biblioteca Digital del Patrimonial IberoamericanoDigital images of maps, drawings, engravings, and manuscripts from national libraries of Spain and Latin America in one searchable portal.
- Artstor This link opens in a new window
Digital images in the arts, architecture, humanities, and sciences with an accessible suite of software tools for teaching and research. Collections from museums, photographers, libraries, scholars, photo archives, and artists and artists' estates. Access Note: To download images or use other advanced features, individuals must register for an individual user account.
- Slavery Images: A Visual Record of the African Slave Trade and Slave Life in the Early African DiasporaThe 1,280 images in this collection have been selected from a wide range of sources, most of them dating from the period of slavery. This collection is envisioned as a tool and a resource that can be used by teachers, researchers, students, and the general public - in brief, anyone interested in the experiences of Africans who were enslaved and transported to the Americas and the lives of their descendants in the slave societies of the New World.
