What's This Number?
Need help making sense of the Call # you found in Library Catalog? or where to find the book in the library?
Books, Articles and More!
Vanderbilt University Library Search
Selecting the best search scope for your research needs:
Everything vs. Library Catalog vs. Articles
| Search Scope | What is included? | When should I use it? |
|---|---|---|
| Everything |
|
|
| Library Catalog |
|
|
| Articles |
|
|
For a more detailed explanation of your search scope options consult What am I searching?
The following databases will help you find articles on your topic:
- 華藝線上圖書館 = Airiti LibraryThis search platform, combining the academic resources of both Taiwan and mainland China, features full-text searchable content covering academic journal articles, doctoral dissertations, and conference paper compilations, to provide high-quality and convenient Chinese knowledge service. Includes Japanese related material
- Art Full Text and Art Index Retrospective This link opens in a new window
Comprehensive resource for art literature: articles, indexing and abstracting of journals, and art dissertations; covering fine, decorative, and commercial art, folk art, photography, film, and architecture. Includes indexing of publications, and citations of book reviews. Indexing of art reproductions provides examples of styles and art movements, including works by emerging artists.
- Avery Index to Architectural Periodicals This link opens in a new window
Comprehensive American guide to the current literature of architecture and design. Index of international, scholarly and popular periodical literature, including publications of professional associations; US state and regional periodicals; and major serial publications in the architecture and design of Europe, Asia, Latin America and Australia.
- Bibliography of Asian Studies (BAS) This link opens in a new windowIndex of books, journal articles, chapters in edited volumes, and conference proceedings on all subjects (especially the Humanities and Social Sciences) pertaining to the East, Southeast, and South Asia.
- China/Asia On Demand (CAOD)Main Features:
Comprehensive coverage of China STM research materials;
Cover all regions of Asia;
Save budget - access the comprehensive collection of China STM titles with an affordable subscription fee;
Powerful discovery capabilities - journal navigation, basic search, combined search and advanced search;
Deliver articles with incorrect citation information or hard-to-find documents using online order requests - response within a few hours;
Support RefWorks and EndNote. Includes Japanese material - CNKI China Doctoral/Master Dissertations Full-text Database 中国博士学位论文全文数据库CNKI (China National Knowledge Infrastructure; Chinese: 中国知网) is a private-owned publishing company in China since 2014.[1][2] CNKI maintains high annual subscription fees due to its de facto monopoly status on journal search in China. Includes Japanese material
- Google ScholarGoogle Scholar provides a simple way to broadly search for scholarly literature. From one place, you can search across many disciplines and sources: articles, theses, books, abstracts and court opinions, from academic publishers, professional societies, online repositories, universities and other web sites. Google Scholar helps you find relevant work across the world of scholarly research.
- Historical Abstracts This link opens in a new window
Index of academic historical journals on the history of the world (excluding the United States and Canada) from 1450 to the present, including world history, military history, women's history, history of education, etc.
- JSTOR This link opens in a new windowLarge and important archive for academic journals, books, and primary sources in the humanities, social sciences, and sciences. Many journals do not have current issues.
- ProQuest This link opens in a new window
Search all ProQuest databases simultaneously. Includes arts, humanities, social sciences, news, and science and technology.
- Oxford Art Online This link opens in a new window
Oxford’s art reference works: Grove Art Online, the Benezit Dictionary of Artists, the Encyclopedia of Aesthetics, The Oxford Companion to Western Art, and The Concise Oxford Dictionary of Art Terms.
- Oxford Bibliographies This link opens in a new windowLiterary guide to significant sources on a variety of subjects. Works as an annotated bibliography and a high-level encyclopedia.
- WorldCat (FirstSearch) This link opens in a new window
Catalog of books, manuscripts, websites, internet resources, maps, computer programs, musical scores, films, slides, newspapers, journals, magazines, sound recordings, articles, chapters, papers, and videotapes available at libraries worldwide. Cross-search OCLC databases: ArchiveGrid, ArticleFirst, Ebooks, ECO, ERIC, GPO, MEDLINE, OAIster, PapersFirst, ProceedingsFirst, WorldCat, and WorldCatDissertations.
What is 
?
FindIt@VU provides direct links from a database citation to the fulltext of the article (if available) and other supporting resources.
You'll also see FindIt@VU buttons in Library Catalog.
What Do I Need for an Interlibrary Loan Request?
All you need is your VUnet ID and password, and the citation information for the resource you are requesting. Just click on the link below and login to the library's Interlibrary Loan Service.
Need help? Ask a librarian!
Interlibrary Loan FAQs
What is Interlibrary Loan?
Interlibrary Loan or ILL (sometimes also called interloan, document delivery, or document supply etc.) is a service whereby a user of one library can borrow books or receive photocopies of documents that are owned by another library. The user makes a request with their local library (in this case Vanderbilt's Heard Library), which, acting as an intermediary, identifies owners of the desired item, places the request, receives the item, makes it available to the user, and arranges for its return.
Do I need to use ILL?
ILL is an optional service. Most undergraduates are able to complete their research assignments using the resources available at the Vanderbilt Libraries. Occasionally the resources you need for a research assignment will not be available. That's when ILL can come to the rescue.
Who can make an ILL request?
Vanderbilt faculty, staff, and currently enrolled students.
What can I request?
We can usually borrow from other libraries the kinds of materials that would circulate here: books and reprints, scores, proceedings, etc.. Microforms, newspaper back files, dissertations, and government documents often are available, but may need special handling. Periodical volumes, reference books, rare or fragile items, videotapes, and very old or very new imprints cannot normally be borrowed. We can request copies of journal articles and many other items that cannot be borrowed.
How long does it take?
Locating and receiving books and articles usually takes a few weeks or less, but sometimes takes several months or longer. Service may be slower during busy times, and we are limited in the number of items we can process at once for a single patron. You should try to determine your needs early, and time your requests to allow for delays and to avoid receiving more than you can use in the time allowed for loans. A good rule of thumb: Budget at least two weeks for receiving an ILL request.
What does it cost?
Absolutely Free!
Want to Find Books in Other Libraries?
Try WorldCat!
It contains more than 125 million records describing resources owned by U.S. libraries and libraries around the world.
- WorldCat (FirstSearch) This link opens in a new window
Catalog of books, manuscripts, websites, internet resources, maps, computer programs, musical scores, films, slides, newspapers, journals, magazines, sound recordings, articles, chapters, papers, and videotapes available at libraries worldwide. Cross-search OCLC databases: ArchiveGrid, ArticleFirst, Ebooks, ECO, ERIC, GPO, MEDLINE, OAIster, PapersFirst, ProceedingsFirst, WorldCat, and WorldCatDissertations.
