Search our catalog!
Keyword vs. Subject Searching
|
Step 1: Start your search process by brainstorming a list of keywords that describe the main concepts of your topic or question. |
|
Step 2: Use these keywords for your initial searches. Step 3: Use the Subject Heading links in the Library Catalog record to refine your search. |
Requesting materials from other libraries:
- Illiad For articles, books,videos, dissertations, etc.
- WorldCat (OCLC) For everything except articles. WorldCat contains more than 1 billion records describing items owned by over 10,000 libraries worldwide. Each record indicates library holdings and contains a "Request this item in ILLiad" link
-
Index to journal articles, book reviews, and collections of essays in all fields of religion. - Historical Abstracts
- Index of academic historical journals on the history of the world (excluding the United States and Canada) from 1450 to the present, including world history, military history, women's history, history of education, etc.
-
JSTORLarge and important archive for academic journals, books, and primary sources in the humanities, social sciences, and sciences. Many journals do not have current issues.
-
ProQuestSearch all ProQuest databases simultaneously. Includes arts, humanities, social sciences, news, and science and technology.
Literary guide to significant sources on a variety of subjects. Works as an annotated bibliography and a high-level encyclopedia.
Reference sources published by Oxford University Press. Dictionaries, subject reference works, language reference sources and key titles in the Oxford Companion series. Some examples are: the Oxford-Duden German dictionaries, A Dictionary of Psychology, A Dictionary of Zoology, The Oxford Dictionary of Idioms, A Dictionary of Writers and Their Works, Oxford Companion to Western Art, Oxford Companion to U.S.History, Oxford Companion to Music, Oxford Companion to Philosophy, and The Encyclopedia of Popular Music, etc.
Collection of Cambridge titles covering literature, classics, philosophy, religion and cultural studies.
-
Greek and Latin literature. Epic and lyric poetry, tragedy and comedy, history, travel, philosophy, oratory, medical writers and mathematicians; and Church Fathers who made particular use of pagan culture. Latin, Greek, and English texts.
- Oxford Biblical Studies Online
Includes texts of the six Oxford Bibles, running scholarly annotations, and the Oxford Bible Commentary. Articles drawn from the Encyclopedia of the Dead Sea Scrolls and Oxford Companion to the Bible, etc.
Articles and books on Archaeology, Classical Studies, Criminology and Criminal Justice, History, Philosophy, Political Science, and Sociology. Some content in Business & Management, Economics & Finance, Literature, Psychology, and Religion.
Cambridge Histories covering American, British, economic, regional, and general history, language and linguistics, philosophy, religious studies, theatre studies and performing arts, etc.
