Additional Resources
Finding Sources
Vanderbilt University Library Catalog
Selecting the best search scope for your research needs:
Library Catalog vs. VU Collections vs. Articles
| Search Scope | What is included? | When should I use it? |
| Library Catalog |
|
|
| VU Collections |
|
|
| Articles |
|
|
For a more detailed explanation of your search scope options consult What am I searching?
Keyword vs. Subject Searching
|
Step 1: Start your search process by brainstorming a list of keywords that describe the main concepts of your topic or question. |
|
Step 2: Use these keywords for your initial searches. Step 3: Use the Subject Heading links in the Library Catalog record to refine your search. |
Latinx Studies
-
Arte Público Hispanic Historical Collection This link opens in a new window
Hispanic history, literature, political commentary, and culture in the United States. Articles, political and religious pamphlets and broadsides, and historical books in Spanish and English.
-
Informe Académico This link opens in a new window
Popular Hispanic magazines (e.g., Fem, Hemisphere, Hola, Hispanic Times, Latin Beat, Latinas, PC, Proceso, Semana). Selected pamphlets in areas such as health care. Spanish thesaurus.
-
Latino Literature: Poetry, Drama, and Fiction This link opens in a new window
Folk tales, poetry, fiction, and plays in English and Spanish by Chicano, Cuban, Puerto Rican, Dominican, and other Latinx authors working in the United States, including unpublished works.
-
PRISMA: Publicaciones y Revistas Sociales y Humanisticas This link opens in a new windowComprehensive reference resource of articles in the social sciences and humanities for the interdisciplinary academic study of Hispanic and Latin America and the Caribbean Basin. Key titles in English, Spanish and Portuguese.
Literature
-
MLA International Bibliography This link opens in a new window
Subject indexing of journals, books, proceedings, and dissertations in the areas of literature, language and linguistics, folklore, film, literary theory & criticism, dramatic arts, and the historical aspects of printing and publishing.
-
Literature Criticism (Gale) This link opens in a new windowBiographical essays; critical essays or excerpts taken from books, magazines, literary reviews, newspapers, scholarly journals, and interviews with featured authors.
Includes ten publications: Contemporary Literary Criticism, Nineteenth Century Literary Criticism, Twentieth Century Literary Criticism, Poetry Criticism, Short Story Criticism, Drama Criticism, Classical and Medieval Literature Criticism, Shakespearean Criticism, Literature Criticism from 1400-1800, and Children's Literature Review. -
Literature Online This link opens in a new window
Literary criticism, selected full-text works (poetry, poems, and drama), author pages, reviews, and reference sources including biographies, bibliographies, and encyclopedias.
Gender Studies/ Psychology/ Sociology
-
Ethnic NewsWatch This link opens in a new window
Journals, magazines, and newspapers from ethnic and minority presses. National and regional publications: African American, Caribbean, African, Arab, Middle Eastern, Asian/Pacific Islander, European, Eastern European, Hispanic, Jewish, Native People.
-
Gender Studies Database This link opens in a new window
Combines Women's Studies International and Men's Studies databases with the coverage of sexual diversity issues. Professional journals, conference papers, books, book chapters, government reports, discussion and working papers, theses & dissertations, websites, etc.
-
PsycINFO This link opens in a new windowAPA PsycINFO is a comprehensive indexing and abstracts of the international psychological literature. Journals, articles, books, dissertations, etc. Subjects include: applied psychology, communication systems, developmental psychology, educational psychology, experimental human and animal psychology, personality, psychological and physical disorders, physiological psychology and neuroscience, professional personnel and issues, psychometrics and statistics, social psychology, social processes and issues, sports psychology and leisure, treatment and prevention.
-
Sociological Abstracts This link opens in a new windowIndex of international literature in sociology and related disciplines in the social and behavioral sciences. Abstracts of journal articles, books, book chapters, dissertations, conference papers, and citations to book reviews.
General
-
ProQuest This link opens in a new window
Search all ProQuest databases simultaneously. Includes arts, humanities, social sciences, news, and science and technology.
-
JSTOR This link opens in a new windowLarge and important archive for academic journals, books, and primary sources in the humanities, social sciences, and sciences. Many journals do not have current issues.
What is 
?
FindIt@VU provides direct links from a database citation to the fulltext of the article (if available) and other supporting resources.
An FAQ for FindIt@VU is also available.
Tips for Developing Search Strategies
Tips for Searching the Library Catalog
Tips for How to Select the Right Database
Tips for Searching MLA International Bibliography
HathiTrust has created the Emergency Temporary Access Service (ETAS), which will allow Vanderbilt students, faculty, and staff online reading access to materials that Vanderbilt Libraries own in print during this period of remote teaching, learning, and research. Access is available until further notice.
**The print editions of books made available through HathiTrust ETAS will not be available for check out for the duration of our participation in the service.
Connect to books in HathiTrust directly from the Library Catalog:
Users need to click on the yellow Log in button and choose Vanderbilt University as their institution and then login with their VUnet ID and password to gain access.
Click the "Temporary access" link in the record to access the ebook and don't forget to click the "Check Out" button!
Some caveats:
- Not all print items available in our catalog are available in HathiTrust
- HathiTrust is providing reading access to Temporary Access titles
- The option to download the work in full is not available
- You will be able to “check out” materials for a limited time (60 minutes)
- There is an automatic renewal option available
- Access to items is 1-1; 1 copy on the member library shelf, 1 individual access to the digital copy; 2 copies, 2 concurrent users of the digital item.
- Print books made available in HathiTrust will not be allowed to circulate.
- Please contact the library for assistance.
