Library Databases to Search
You will want to use a library database to track down peer-reviewed articles and other scholarly sources. There are two types of databases:
- Subject Database A searchable collection of scholarly journals in a particular field of study such as psychology or education.
- Multidisciplinary Database A searchable collection of scholarly journals from a large collection of fields, often humanities, social sciences, and more. ProQuest is a good example of a multidisciplinary database.
The databases listed below are frequently used by Peabody students.
- ERIC (ProQuest version) This link opens in a new windowJournal articles, conferences, meetings, government documents, theses, dissertations, reports, audiovisual media, bibliographies, directories, books and monographs on education-related literature.
- Education Full Text This link opens in a new windowArticles, periodicals, yearbooks, series, and supplements on special education, educational tests, adult education, multicultural/ethnic education, teaching methods, continuing education, literacy standards, multicultural/ethnic education, etc.
- PsycINFO This link opens in a new windowAPA PsycINFO is a comprehensive indexing and abstracts of the international psychological literature. Journals, articles, books, dissertations, etc. Subjects include: applied psychology, communication systems, developmental psychology, educational psychology, experimental human and animal psychology, personality, psychological and physical disorders, physiological psychology and neuroscience, professional personnel and issues, psychometrics and statistics, social psychology, social processes and issues, sports psychology and leisure, treatment and prevention.
Google Scholar Search
- Google Scholar Vanderbilt Login This link opens in a new windowUse this link to seamlessly access VU resources via Google Scholar both on and off campus.
You can also adjust your Google Scholar settings to display the Vanderbilt Findit@VU link to appear in search results and allow for access from on or off-campus. Access Google Scholar settings by visiting this page (https://scholar.google.com/scholar_settings).
Click library links on the left hand menu. in the search box, search for Vanderbilt and select: “Vanderbilt University Library – Findit@VU” (with uppercase F), Click Save.
ERIC Subject Terms
Research Strategy Worksheet
- Research Journey WorksheetResearch is a process. This worksheet takes you step-by-step through the process of defining your research questions to strategically searching for resources using library databases.
Use the Research Journey Worksheet as a guide through the process of creating a search strategy to try in the library databases.
