Research Guides: DIV / REL 6901 Fundamentals of Preaching: Library Resources

Library Resources

Kashif Graham

Email Me

Contact:

Suite 214-B
419 21st Avenue S
Nashville, TN, 37240

(615) 875-3494

Subjects: Religious Studies

What is a source?

Primary sources originate in the time period that historians are studying. They vary a great deal. They may include personal memiors, goverment documents, transcriptions of legal proceedings, oral histories and traditions, archeaeological and biological evidence, visual sources like paintings and photographs.

William Kelleher Storey, Writing History: A Guide for Students (New York: Oxford University Press, 2004), p. 18.

Secondary works reflect on earlier times. Typically, they are books and articles by writers who are interpreting the events and primary sources [and other secondary sources] you are studying.

William Kelleher Storey, Writing History: A Guide for Students (New York: Oxford University Press, 2004), p. 18.

Reference material that summarizes and condenses the information found in primary and secondary sources. (e.g., frequently almanacs, bibliographies, chronologies; dictionaries and encyclopedias, textbooks)

Christine Bombaro, Finding History: Research Methods and Resources for Students and Scholars (Lanham, MD: Scarecrow Press, 2012), p. 57

In some cases the distinction between primary and secondary source works may be confusing. If you are writing about historical writers, you may find yourself using a secondary work as a primary source. For example, during the 1840s and 1850s Thomas Macaulay wrote The History of England. His book describes the origins and outcome of England's Glorious Revolution of 1688. For historians of seventeenth-century England, Macaulay's book is a classic secondary work. But for historians of Victorian Britian [c. 1837-1901], The History of England is a rich primary source that tells historians a great deal about intellectual life in the 1840s and 1850s.

William Kelleher Storey, Writing History: A Guide for Students (New York: Oxford University Press, 2004), p. 19.

Interdisciplinary Resources

Search our catalog!

Keyword vs. Subject Searching

Step 1: Start your search process by brainstorming a list of keywords that describe the main concepts of your topic or question.

Step 2: Use these keywords for your initial searches.

Step 3: Use the Subject Heading links in the Library Catalog record to refine your search.

Requesting materials from other libraries:

I lliad For articles, books,videos, dissertations, etc.
WorldCat (OCLC) For everything except articles. WorldCat contains more than 1 billion records describing items owned by over 10,000 libraries worldwide. Each record indicates library holdings and contains a "Request this item in ILLiad" link

ATLA (American Theological Library Association) Religion Database with ATLA Serials PLUS This link opens in a new window
Index to journal articles, book reviews, and collections of essays in all fields of religion. Some full text.
Coverage: 19th century to present.
Classic Sermon Index This link opens in a new window
Sermons cataloged according to each sermon’s principal text (e.g., John 3:16), author, book title, and page number within the book that contains it. Many sermons are from historically significant public executions, funerals, and coronations.
Kanopy This link opens in a new window
On-demand streaming video service for documentaries, training films, and theatrical releases. Films under a current license agreement are available for immediate viewing. Other films may require a request through the Kanopy site. Viewing films in a group forum is permitted as long as the viewing is by Vanderbilt authorized viewers only (current faculty, staff, or students) and it is not for commercial benefit (i.e. no admission costs are charged and no profit is made from the screening).
PsycINFO This link opens in a new window
APA PsycINFO is a comprehensive indexing and abstracts of the international psychological literature. Journals, articles, books, dissertations, etc. Subjects include: applied psychology, communication systems, developmental psychology, educational psychology, experimental human and animal psychology, personality, psychological and physical disorders, physiological psychology and neuroscience, professional personnel and issues, psychometrics and statistics, social psychology, social processes and issues, sports psychology and leisure, treatment and prevention.
Coverage: 1800s to present.
Revised Common Lectionary This link opens in a new window
Ecumenical lectionary system developed by the North American Consultation on Common Texts (CCT) and the International English Language Liturgical Consultation (ELLC). Based on the Roman Lectionary, Ordo Lectionum Missae.

Blue Letter Bible
Blue Letter Bible provides powerful tools for an in-depth study of God’s Word through our free online reference library, with study tools that are grounded in the historical, conservative Christian faith.
Scripture Study App
Scripture Study App is a digital tool to enrich the study of Scripture. It is provided by Calvin Theological Seminary for the benefit of the church.

Print Commentaries

Matthew (BS2570 - 2575)

Mark (BS2580 - 2585)

Acts (BS2620 - 2625)

Romans (2660 - 2665)

Art in the Christian Tradition
The Art in the Christian Tradition (ACT) database is a regularly updated visual image internet resource. Designed for scholars, students, pastors, and religious educators, all of the images may be used for non-commercial purposes, with attribution. There are currently 5332 images in the collection.

Artstor This link opens in a new window
Digital images in the arts, architecture, humanities, and sciences with an accessible suite of software tools for teaching and research. Collections from museums, photographers, libraries, scholars, photo archives, and artists and artists' estates. Access Note: To download images or use other advanced features, individuals must register for an individual user account.