Handbooks & Manuals
- Handbook of Chemistry and Physics (CRC) This link opens in a new windowElectronic version of the CRC Handbook of Chemistry and Physics. Includes many updated and expanded tables: Fundamental Physical Constants (the new set of CODATA recommended values, replacing the 1986 set); The Elements (descriptive texts on the occurrence, properties, history, and uses of all the chemical elements); Dissociation Constants of Organic Acids and Bases (expanded by 50%); Dipole Moments (revised and expanded); Threshold Limits for Airborne Contaminants (including the most recent recommendations).
- Knovel (Online Interactive Science and Engineering Books and Databases) This link opens in a new windowReference books and databases from sci-tech publishers.**Off campus access to Knovel’s content requires you to register for Knovel temporarily. Use this link:
http://app.knovel.com/web/register.html?orgregkey=22cc49dd-0b5f-4acb-9dce-aa33a4219721 and complete a short registration form. Register with your Vanderbilt email address. Once you activate your account, you will have off-campus access to Knovel. - AccessEngineering This link opens in a new windowReference and teaching platform that delivers interdisciplinary engineering ebooks and videos integrated with analytical teaching and learning tools.
- AccessScience This link opens in a new windowOnline resource containing reference material covering all major scientific disciplines.
Literature Databases
- Web of Science This link opens in a new window
Citation database from journals and international conference proceedings. Cross-search of the Web of Science Core Collection, BIOSIS Previews, and the SciELO Citation Index (Latin America, Spain, Portugal, the Caribbean and South Africa).
- PubMed This link opens in a new windowInternational journals in medicine, public health, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, and the preclinical sciences. Information from allied health, biological and physical sciences, humanities and information science as they relate to medicine and health care.
- Medline (Web of Science) This link opens in a new windowUS National Library of Medicine premier life sciences database. Biomedicine and life sciences, bioengineering, public health, clinical care, and plant and animal science. Search precisely with MeSH terms and CAS registry numbers; link to NCBI databases and PubMed.
Chemical Structure and Synthesis Databases
- PubChemPubChem is an open chemistry database at the National Institutes of Health (NIH). PubChem mostly contains small molecules, but also larger molecules such as nucleotides, carbohydrates, lipids, peptides, and chemically-modified macromolecules. We collect information on chemical structures, identifiers, chemical and physical properties, biological activities, patents, health, safety, toxicity data, and many others.
- SciFinder-n This link opens in a new windowProvides integrated access to authoritative references, substances, and reactions in chemistry and related sciences. New Scifinder platform with PatentPak and MethodsNow.
- Reaxys This link opens in a new window
Chemical reactions, chemical substances and measured substance property data from chemistry journals and organic chemistry patent publications. Synthesis planner and the ability to generate a structure query from a name. Reaxys Xcelerate Direct enables fast insights into the data as well as instantaneous synthesis planning.
Molecular Biology Databases
- NCBI BLASTBLAST finds regions of similarity between biological sequences. The program compares nucleotide or protein sequences to sequence databases and calculates the statistical significance.
- NCBI NucleotideA collection of sequences from several sources, including GenBank, RefSeq, TPA and PDB.
- NCBI ProteinA collection of sequences from several sources, including translations from annotated coding regions in GenBank, RefSeq and TPA, as well as records from SwissProt, PIR, PRF, and PDB.
- NCBI StructureFacilitates access to structure data by connecting them with associated literature, protein and nucleic acid sequences, chemicals, biomolecular interactions, and more.
- NCBI Cn3DDownload this free software to be able to view protein structures from the Structure database.
- NCBI Conserved Domain SearchUse this database to identify conserved domains.
