MUSL 1600, "American Popular Music"

This research guide will help you with your research and when writing your Artist EP Project and Research Paper. I will take you through the research process: gathering information, interpreting materials, and citing your work.

• You will learn to develop a search strategy and keywords for searching.
• You will familiarize yourself with encyclopedias, dictionaries, online databases, and print resources that may help you when writing your research paper.
• And if you need research help at any time, contact me, Kate Linton, Music Librarian for Instruction and Outreach by clicking on the "email me" or "schedule appointment" button on the left-hand side of the page. 

Remember the research process is presented here in steps but should never be considered rigid as you may return to steps along the way.

Select a few topics that you are considering for your paper(s) and start to gather background information on not just the artist, tracks, or genre but also a brief overview of any socioeconomic, political, cultural, or historical landscapes during the time period.

Gathering background information at the beginning of the research can be important. While you can consult Wikipedia and use the footnotes at the bottom of the article to inform where you can search next, you also have access to authoritative encyclopedias, dictionaries, discographies, and representations of those including in our online databases and electronic resources. 

What sources can I find that speak to the time period in American History? These may or may not be music related materials. 

Once you feel you have an understanding of your artist/album as well as the political, cultural, or historical landscapes around the album, narrow down your topic and find source material! 

Use your artists/albums and consider looking at the the following texts:

Online Encyclopedias & Dictionaries

Print Encyclopedias & Dictionaries (Wilson Music Library): The Wilson Music Library has print encyclopedias in the reference resources section and the stacks. Our reference materials are in-house use only, and the stacks are available for checkout. Always double check the call number for the location. Use these call number ranges to browse the reference section and stacks for encyclopedias and an example.