Selected E-Books:
Key Databases:
The databases listed below feature full-text access to all or most of their content, making them good sources for you research projects.
- African American Music Reference This link opens in a new windowThis full-text database features essays and images on all aspects of African American music, including the blues, jazz, civil rights songs, slave songs, gospel, rap, and R&B. It contains over 42,000 essays and images from 162 different sources, including biographies, discographies, reference works, liner notes, and sheet music.
- Bloomsbury Popular Music This link opens in a new windowBloomsbury Popular Music provides online access to the Bloomsbury Encyclopedia of Popular Music of the World, the popular 33 1/3 and Global 33 1/3 series, and a growing electronic collection of academic books on popular music. Explores the historical origins and cultural impact of popular music, influential artists and albums, local music scenes and subcultures, musical form, instruments, the workings of the music industry, and the social, political, and economic context of different musical genres.
- Music Periodicals Database This link opens in a new windowThe Music Periodicals Database provides indexing and abstracts for 425+ music periodicals and full text for around 140 music journals. This database includes citations to both scholarly and popular music periodicals, and covers topics such as music education, performance, music theory and composition, musical theatre, ethnomusicology, and popular music. Almost all records in the Music Periodicals Database come from English-language periodicals.
