Sources

Databases
Library Search Tool

AnthroSource This link opens in a new window
Archive of all journals, newsletters, and bulletins of the American Anthropological Association.
CINAHL Ultimate This link opens in a new window
Cumulative Index to Nursing and Allied Health Literature: authoritative coverage of literature related to nursing and allied health professionals.
PubMed This link opens in a new window
International journals in medicine, public health, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, and the preclinical sciences. Information from allied health, biological and physical sciences, humanities and information science as they relate to medicine and health care.
Social Services Abstracts This link opens in a new window
Bibliographic coverage of current research focused on social work, human services and related areas, including social welfare, social policy and community development. Abstracts and index of serials publications, journal articles, dissertations, and citations to book reviews.
Coverage: 1980 to present.
ATLA (American Theological Library Association) Religion Database with ATLA Serials PLUS This link opens in a new window
Index to journal articles, book reviews, and collections of essays in all fields of religion. Some full text.
Coverage: 19th century to present.
Google Scholar Vanderbilt Login This link opens in a new window
Add VU to your Google profile: https://scholar.google.com/scholar_settings
PsycINFO This link opens in a new window
Coverage: 1800s to present.
Sociological Abstracts This link opens in a new window
Index of international literature in sociology and related disciplines in the social and behavioral sciences. Abstracts of journal articles, books, book chapters, dissertations, conference papers, and citations to book reviews.
Coverage: 1953 to present.
ProQuest Social Science Premium Collection This link opens in a new window
International literature in the social sciences: politics, sociology, social services, anthropology, criminology and education. IBSS, PAIS and Sociological Abstracts. Abstracts, indexing and full text of articles, books, chapters, dissertations, working papers.

• Applied Social Sciences Index and Abstracts (ASSIA)
• Criminal Justice Database
• Education Database
• ERIC
• International Bibliography of the Social Sciences (IBSS)
• Linguistics and Language Behavior Abstracts (LLBA)
• PAIS Index
• Political Science Database
• PTSDpubs
• Social Science Database
• Social Services Abstracts
• Sociological Abstracts
• Sociology Database
• Worldwide Political Science Abstracts
Library Search This link opens in a new window
Check out the Library Search which finds print and electronic items, including journal and newspaper articles, book chapters, books, reviews, legal documents, and much more. Note: Due to licensing restrictions, some content is only available to current students, faculty, and staff.
Search help: https://www.library.vanderbilt.edu/searchhelp/

Vanderbilt University Library Search

Selecting the best search scope for your research needs:

Everything vs. Library Catalog vs. Articles

Search Scope	What is included?	When should I use it?
Everything	Broadest search scope Results will include books and ebooks, articles, and media like DVDs	A great option when you are just beginning your research process. Use Everything when you want to survey the research landscape for your topic
Library Catalog	Focuses on VU owned items, physical and digital Results will include books and ebooks, and media like DVDs Digital collections like the TV News Archive will also be included in your results	You have defined your information needs Use Library Catalog when you are ready to create a tailored search for your topic
Articles	Content from selected VU databases Popular and scholarly articles	Use Articles to find popular and scholarly articles on your topic. The Articles scope does not search across all databases accessible to the Vanderbilt community. Not finding the articles you need or want more database options? Consult the Database A-Z

For a more detailed explanation of your search scope options consult What am I searching?