Sources for Studying the Holocaust
Sources for Studying the Holocaust.Each chapter shows how various sources such as diaries, letters, photographs, survivor testimonies, newspaper accounts, memorials, films and literature can be utilized as accurate sources for the writing of Holocaust history.
Primary Sources
- Visual History Archive (USC Shoah Foundation) This link opens in a new windowStreaming video collection of interviews with witnesses and survivors of the Holocaust and other genocides including Armenia, Tutsi in Rwanda, Nanjing, Guatemala, Cambodia, South Sudan, Central African Republic Conflict, and Anti-Rohingya Mass Violence.
- Fortunoff Video Archive for Holocaust Testimonies This link opens in a new windowCollection of interviews with Holocaust witnesses and survivors that detail a wide range of experiences including liberators, resistance fighters, partisans, bystanders, and those in hiding.*Note: First time users must create an account, then search for and request access to an initial testimony.
- United States Holocaust Memorial Museum (USHMM).Artifacts, film & video, photos, oral history testimonies (7,600+ streamable hours), and victim lists.
- Yad Vashem. The World Holocaust Remembrance Center.Resources include the Holocaust Resource Center, Video Testimony Resource Center, and the Photo Archive.
- Archives Unbound.Documents cover a broad range of topics. Includes the following collections:
• German Anti-Semitic Propaganda,1909-1941
• Nuremberg Laws and Nazi Annulment of German Jewish Nationality
• Testaments to the Holocaust
- Artstor This link opens in a new windowDigital images in the arts, architecture, humanities, and sciences. Collections from museums, photographers, libraries, scholars, photo archives, and artists and artists' estates.
- AP Images This link opens in a new windowAssociated Press archive of over photographs from 1844 to the present, audio files of radio broadcasts, text of wire stories, and info-graphics.
I Never Saw Another Butterfly.Selection of children's poems, letters, and drawings from the Terezin Concentration Camp (1942-1944).
I was a Doctor in Auschwitz.First memoir by a woman Holocaust survivor that establishes the model for understanding the gendered Nazi policies and practices targeting Jewish women. The memoir is also significant for its inclusion of the Nazis' Roma victims, and in-depth representations of Nazi women guards and other personnel.
Shared Sorrows: A Gypsy Family Remembers the Holocaust.The story of a Gypsy family against the backdrop of a Jewish one, detailing and examining their shared experiences under the Nazis.
Through Soviet Jewish Eyes: Photography, War, and Holocaust.An elite group of two dozen Soviet-Jewish photographers were charged by the Stalinist state with a social project to tell the visual story of the Holocaust.
The Warsaw Ghetto Oyneg Shabes-Ringelblum Archive.Testimonies from Warsaw natives and refugees from hundreds of other localities, creating a documentary record of the wartime fate of Polish Jewry.
