Finding Full Text of Articles with FindIt@VU
FindIt@VU provides direct links from a database citation to the full text of the article (if available) and other supporting resources. Just look for this icon when searching databases:
If the full text link is not shown, be sure to check the link labeled "See if this item is available in the Vanderbilt Libraries" to see if the journal title or other resource is available in print form. Items not available through VU Libraries can be requested through Interlibrary Loan.
Article Databases
- Historical Abstracts This link opens in a new windowArticles on historical topics (excluding Canada and the US) from 1450 to present. For US relations with Haiti see the database America: History and Life.
- Periodicals Index Online This link opens in a new windowArticles from 1665 to the present. For early articles use other terms (Saint Domingue, St Domingo, Hayti, Hispaniola). Periodicals Archive Online is the sister database.
- ProQuest This link opens in a new windowSearches scholarly journals, books, dissertations, newspapers, and magazines in over 70 databases.
- JSTOR This link opens in a new windowArchive of academic journals (full text searchable) such as the Journal of Haitian Studies. Many titles do not include current issues.
- HAPI: Hispanic American Periodicals Index This link opens in a new windowIndexes journals relating to Latin America since the 1960s.
- Google Scholar Vanderbilt Login This link opens in a new windowYou can use this link to access a portion of Vanderbilt's scholarly articles seamlessly. Under settings select library links Vanderbilt U Library Find it@VU and ProQuest.
- DialnetFree open access database from Spain of journals, theses, books, conference papers. Many are full text.
- Cairn.infoFrench-language portal that indexes many journals and books. some are open access.
