History Librarian
Zoom Office Hours Mondays: 2pm to 3pm (Central Time)
(Click Blue Zoom Icon Below)
Getting Started
As a Vanderbilt student you can:
- get help with your research assignments by using Ask a Librarian.
- borrow books and other items from any of the campus libraries (except Special Collections).
- return most items you check out to any library.
- BrillOnline Reference Works This link opens in a new window
The collection contains: New Pauly Online, Jacoby Online, Encyclopedia of Jews in the Islamic World, Encyclopedia of Ancient Greek Language and Linguistics, Encyclopedia of Hebrew Language and Linguistics, Foreign Law Guide, Encyclopaedia Islamica, Encyclopedia of Women & Islamic Cultures, Qurʾānic Studies Online, Encyclopaedia of Islam.
- Oxford Bibliographies This link opens in a new windowLiterary guide to significant sources on a variety of subjects. Works as an annotated bibliography and a high-level encyclopedia.
- Cambridge Histories Online This link opens in a new windowCambridge Histories covering American, British, economic, regional, and general history, language and linguistics, philosophy, religious studies, theatre studies and performing arts, etc.
- Oxford Reference This link opens in a new window
Reference sources published by Oxford University Press. Dictionaries, subject reference works, language reference sources and key titles in the Oxford Companion series. Some examples are: the Oxford-Duden German dictionaries, A Dictionary of Psychology, A Dictionary of Zoology, The Oxford Dictionary of Idioms, A Dictionary of Writers and Their Works, Oxford Companion to Western Art, Oxford Companion to U.S.History, Oxford Companion to Music, Oxford Companion to Philosophy, and The Encyclopedia of Popular Music, etc.
- Oxford Research Encyclopedias This link opens in a new windowLong-form overview articles written, peer-reviewed, and edited by leading scholars. Both foundational and cutting-edge topics are covered in order to develop, over time, an anchoring knowledge base for major areas of research.
Access to selected content only. Some articles may not be available.
- Gale Literature: Book Review Index This link opens in a new window
Comprehensive guide to book reviews: cites or links to full-text reviews.
- Historical Abstracts This link opens in a new window
Index of academic historical journals on the history of the world (excluding the United States and Canada) from 1450 to the present, including world history, military history, women's history, history of education, etc.
- JSTOR This link opens in a new windowLarge and important archive for academic journals, books, and primary sources in the humanities, social sciences, and sciences. Many journals do not have current issues.
- ProQuest One Academic This link opens in a new window
Scholarly journals, newspapers, dissertations, and business information. Includes: ABI/INFORM Complete, Accounting & Tax, Banking Information Source, Canadian Newsstand Complete, CBCA Complete, Hoover's Company Profiles, OxResearch, Pharmaceutical News Index, Asian Business & Reference, Biology Journals, Career and Technical Education, Computing, Criminal Justice, Education Journals, European Business, Family Health, Health & Medical Complete, Health Management, Military Collection, Newsstand, Nursing & Allied Health Source, Psychology Journals, Religion, Research Library, Science Journals, Social Science Journals, Telecommunications, Snapshots.
The Foundations of Early Modern Europe, 1460-1559Call Number: Central Library Stacks; CB359 .R5 1994Print only available
A Manual for Writers of Research Papers, Theses, and Dissertations, Ninth EditionCall Number: Divinity Library--1st Floor ; LB2369 .T8 2018Two print copies available (Divinity and Peabody Libraries)
Hans Staden's True History: An Account of Cannibal Captivity in BrazilUnlimited User Ebook available
Journey to the East: the Jesuit mission to China, 1579-1724Call Number: Divinity Library--1st Floor ; BV3417 .B76 2007Unlimited User Ebook and Print available
Early Modern Tales of OrientUnlimited User Ebook available
Travel and Ethnology in the Renaissance: South India Through European Eyes, 1250-1625Call Number: Central Library Stacks ; GN575 .R835 2000Unlimited User Ebook and Print Available
Europe Through Arab Eyes, 1578-1727Call Number: Central Library Stacks; DS63.2 .E8 M38 2009Unlimited User Ebook and Print available
The Dragoman Renaissance: Diplomatic Interpreters and the Routes of OrientalismCall Number: Central Library Stacks; DR479 .E85 R67 2021Unlimited User Ebook and Print available
- Native Americans, Conversion, and Christian Practice in Colonial New England, 1640—1730Online: The Harvard theological review, 2009-01, Vol.102 (1), p.101-124
Protestant Empires: globalizing the reformationsCall Number: Divinity Library--1st Floor ; BR305.3 .P73 2020Unlimited User Ebook and Print available
- 'Like Devils out of Hell': Reassessing the African Presence in Early Modern EnglandOnline: Black theology : An International Journal, 2016-05, Vol.14 (2), p.107-120
Religion in the Andes: Vision and Imagination in Early Colonial PeruCall Number: Central Library Stacks; F3429.3 .R3 M28 1991Unlimited User Ebook and Print Available
Library Perks
- Library PerksVanderbilt Libraries offers a variety of resources and services for research and scholarship. Make sure you don't miss out on any of these library perks for Vanderbilt affiliates.
