History Librarian
Zoom Office Hours Mondays: 2pm to 3pm (Central Time)
(Click Blue Zoom Icon Below)
Getting Started
As a Vanderbilt student you can:
- get help with your research assignments by using Ask A Librarian.
- borrow books and other items from any of the campus libraries (except Special Collections).
- return most items you check out to any library.
- find book drops outside the libraries and at the Commons Center.
Oxford Handbook of HappinessEbook Available.
Routledge History of HappinessUnlimited User Ebook Available
- Oxford Bibliographies This link opens in a new windowLiterary guide to significant sources on a variety of subjects. Works as an annotated bibliography and a high-level encyclopedia.
- Oxford Handbooks Online This link opens in a new windowArticles and books on Archaeology, Classical Studies, Criminology and Criminal Justice, History, Philosophy, Political Science, and Sociology. Some content in Business & Management, Economics & Finance, Literature, Psychology, and Religion.
- Oxford Research Encyclopedias This link opens in a new windowLong-form overview articles written, peer-reviewed, and edited by leading scholars. Both foundational and cutting-edge topics are covered in order to develop, over time, an anchoring knowledge base for major areas of research.
Access to selected content only. Some articles may not be available. - Oxford Reference This link opens in a new window
Reference sources published by Oxford University Press. Dictionaries, subject reference works, language reference sources and key titles in the Oxford Companion series. Some examples are: the Oxford-Duden German dictionaries, A Dictionary of Psychology, A Dictionary of Zoology, The Oxford Dictionary of Idioms, A Dictionary of Writers and Their Works, Oxford Companion to Western Art, Oxford Companion to U.S.History, Oxford Companion to Music, Oxford Companion to Philosophy, and The Encyclopedia of Popular Music, etc.
- BrillOnline Bibliographies This link opens in a new windowThe collection contains: Book History Online, Index Islamicus, and The Boston College Jesuit Bibliography.
- BrillOnline Reference Works This link opens in a new window
The collection contains: New Pauly Online, Jacoby Online, Encyclopedia of Jews in the Islamic World, Encyclopedia of Ancient Greek Language and Linguistics, Encyclopedia of Hebrew Language and Linguistics, Foreign Law Guide, Encyclopaedia Islamica, Encyclopedia of Women & Islamic Cultures, Qurʾānic Studies Online, Encyclopaedia of Islam.
- Cambridge Histories Online This link opens in a new windowCambridge Histories covering American, British, economic, regional, and general history, language and linguistics, philosophy, religious studies, theatre studies and performing arts, etc.
- Very Short Introductions (Oxford)Concise overviews of hundreds of diverse topics from the abstract (Knowledge) to the concrete (Coral Reefs), written by experts in the field who combine facts, analysis, new ideas, and enthusiasm to make challenging topics highly readable.
- America: History and Life This link opens in a new window
Index of literature covering the history and culture of the United States and Canada. Journal articles, book titles, book reviews, and dissertations.
- Gale Literature: Book Review Index This link opens in a new window
Comprehensive guide to book reviews: cites or links to full-text reviews.
- Historical Abstracts This link opens in a new window
Index of academic historical journals on the history of the world (excluding the United States and Canada) from 1450 to the present, including world history, military history, women's history, history of education, etc.
- JSTOR This link opens in a new windowLarge and important archive for academic journals, books, and primary sources in the humanities, social sciences, and sciences. Many journals do not have current issues.
- ProQuest This link opens in a new window
Search all ProQuest databases simultaneously. Includes arts, humanities, social sciences, news, and science and technology.
- Readers' Guide Retrospective, 1890-1982 This link opens in a new windowIndex of articles from magazines, including full coverage of the original print volumes of Readers’ Guide to Periodical Literature™. Atlantic Monthly, Century Magazine, Christian Century, Commonweal, Foreign Affairs, Fortnightly Review (London), Good Housekeeping, Harper's, Ladies Home Journal, Literary Digest, The Nation, New Republic, Reader's Digest, Saturday Evening Post, Saturday Review, Scribner's, and Women's Home Companion.
BOOKS
The Happiness Hypothesis: Finding Modern Truth in Ancient WisdomCall Number: Central Library Stacks BJ1481 .H14 2006PRINT BOOK AT CENTRAL RESERVES
EBOOK AVAILABLE: FIVE USER LIMIT
The Nordic Theory of Everything: In Search of a Better LifeCall Number: Central Library Stacks HN540.A8 P37 2017PRINT BOOK AT CENTRAL RESERVES
EBOOK AVAILABLE: FIVE USER LIMIT
A Path with Heart: A Guide Through the Perils and Promises of Spiritual LifeCall Number: Divinity 1st Floor ; BQ5660 .K67 1993PRINT BOOK AT CENTRAL RESERVES
EBOOK AVAILABLE 1 USER
Planet in Peril: humanity's four greatest challenges and how we can overcome themUnlimited User Ebook Available
FILMS
Happy (2011)Available via Kanopy- GandhiStreaming LInk and DVD (at Law Library) Available
- Living on One DollarSTREAMING from Academic Video Online
Library Perks
- Library PerksVanderbilt Libraries offers a variety of resources and services for research and scholarship. Make sure you don't miss out on any of these library perks for Vanderbilt affiliates.
