January 21, 2019
The first library session of the class will take place in the Special Collections Classroom (Room 203B). This classroom is located on the second floor of the building, across the hall from the Divinity Library.
We will discuss the difference between primary and secondary sources, the types of material that can be found in Special Collections and the University Archives, and the importance of background research. We will also review strategies for using published documents, databases, and online search engines to find primary and secondary sources.
Class Sessions, January - April 2019
Class sessions at the library in January, February, March and April will provide students an opportunity to conduct on-site primary source research. Dr. Blackett and a librarian from the Special Collections Library will be on hand to provide assistance and answer questions during these sessions. The class sessions will be held in the Special Collections Classroom (Room 203B) and in the Special Collections Reading Room.
Sessions at the library are scheduled for the following dates:
January
- Thursday, January 17 - Special Collections Classroom
- Thursday, January 31 - Special Collections Reading Room
February
- Tuesday, February 5 - Special Collections Reading Room
- Thursday, February 7 - Special Collections Reading Room
- Tuesday, February 12 - Special Collections Reading Room
- Thursday, February 14 - Special Collections Reading Room
- Tuesday, February 19 - Special Collections Reading Room
- Thursday, February 21 - Special Collections Reading Room
- Tuesday, February 26 - Special Collections Reading Room
- Thursday, February 28 - Special Collections Reading Room
March
- Tuesday, March 5 - Spring Break
- Thursday, March 7 - Spring Break
- Tuesday, March 12 - Special Collections Reading Room
- Thursday, March 14 - Special Collections Reading Room
- Tuesday, March 19 - Special Collections Reading Room
- Thursday, March 21 - Special Collections Reading Room
- Tuesday, March 26 - Special Collections Reading Room
- Thursday, March 28 - Special Collections Reading Room
April
- Tuesday, April 2 - Special Collections Reading Room
Requesting Items for Class
Students may request up to two manuscript collection boxes and two books for a library class session.
On Site Collections
In order to receive material in time for class sessions, please submit your request by these deadlines:
For Tuesday class: by 8:00 AM on Tuesday.
For Thursday class: by 8:00 AM on Thursday.
Off Site Collections/Archives
We receive deliveries from our off site facility Monday-Friday by 12:00 PM. In order to receive off-site material in time for class sessions, please submit your request by these deadlines:
For Tuesday class: no later than 8:30am on Monday.
For Thursday class: no later than 8:30am on Wednesday morning.
Please remember: e-mail isn't always instantaneous. If requesting something near the deadline, please call your request in to 615-322-2807.
