History Librarian
Jason Schultz
He/him/his
Contact:
Office: 800FL Central Library
Zoom Office Hours Mondays: 2pm to 3pm (Central Time)
(Click Blue Zoom Icon Below)
Zoom Office Hours Mondays: 2pm to 3pm (Central Time)
(Click Blue Zoom Icon Below)
(615) 875-8311
Website
Getting Started
As a Vanderbilt student you can:
- get help with your research assignments by using Ask A Librarian.
- borrow books and other items from any of the campus libraries (except Special Collections).
- return most items you check out to any library.
- find book drops outside the libraries and at the Commons Center.
- Central Library has a materials budget over Two million dollars.
- Vanderbilt Library subscribes to over 700 databases.
- These resources make up a majority of the Deep Web
- Google, Bing and other familiar search engines capture less than 1% of information on the Web.
- Cambridge Histories Online This link opens in a new windowCambridge Histories covering American, British, economic, regional, and general history, language and linguistics, philosophy, religious studies, theatre studies and performing arts, etc.
- Oxford Bibliographies This link opens in a new windowLiterary guide to significant sources on a variety of subjects. Works as an annotated bibliography and a high-level encyclopedia.
- Oxford Research Encyclopedias This link opens in a new windowLong-form overview articles written, peer-reviewed, and edited by leading scholars. Both foundational and cutting-edge topics are covered in order to develop, over time, an anchoring knowledge base for major areas of research.
Access to selected content only. Some articles may not be available. - Very Short Introductions This link opens in a new window
Concise overviews of hundreds of diverse topics from the abstract (Knowledge) to the concrete (Coral Reefs), written by experts in the field who combine facts, analysis, new ideas, and enthusiasm to make challenging topics highly readable.
- Gale Literature: Book Review Index This link opens in a new window
Comprehensive guide to book reviews: cites or links to full-text reviews.
- Historical Abstracts This link opens in a new window
Index of academic historical journals on the history of the world (excluding the United States and Canada) from 1450 to the present, including world history, military history, women's history, history of education, etc.
- JSTOR This link opens in a new windowLarge and important archive for academic journals, books, and primary sources in the humanities, social sciences, and sciences. Many journals do not have current issues.
- ProQuest This link opens in a new window
Search all ProQuest databases simultaneously. Includes arts, humanities, social sciences, news, and science and technology.
- Readers' Guide Retrospective, 1890-1982 This link opens in a new window
Index of articles from magazines, including full coverage of the original print volumes of Readers’ Guide to Periodical Literature™. Atlantic Monthly, Century Magazine, Christian Century, Commonweal, Foreign Affairs, Fortnightly Review (London), Good Housekeeping, Harper's, Ladies Home Journal, Literary Digest, The Nation, New Republic, Reader's Digest, Saturday Evening Post, Saturday Review, Scribner's, and Women's Home Companion.
On Revision: The Only Writing That CountsCall Number: Central Library Reference; PN145 .G44 2021Unlimited User Ebook and Print Available
Great Demarcation: The French Revolution and the Invention of Modern Property.Call Number: Central Library Stacks; KJV1130.3 .B57 2016Unlimited User Ebook and Print Available
Thinking about HistoryCall Number: Central Library Stacks; D16 .M417 2017Print Only Available (Two Copies)
Other Readings
Domestic Secrets: women and property in Sweden, 1600-1857Unlimited User Ebook Available
Commodity and Propriety: Competing Visions of Property in American Legal Thought, 1776-1970Call Number: Law Library Upper Level; KF562 .A43 1997Unlimited User Ebook and Print Available
How the Indians Lost Their Land: Law and Power on the FrontierCall Number: Central Library Stacks; E98 .L3 B36 2005Unlimited User Ebook and Print Available
American Property: a history of how, why, and what we owCall Number: Law Library Upper Level; KF562 .B36 2011Unlimited User Ebook and Print Available
A Student's Guide to HistoryCall Number: Central LIbrary Stacks; D16.3 .B4 2016One User Ebook Available, Older Print Editions Available
The Making of New World Slavery: from the Baroque to the modern, 1492-1800Call Number: Central Library Stacks; HT1048 .B56 1997Unlimited User Ebook and Print Available
Commentaries on the laws of England. Book II, Of rights of thingsUnlimited User Ebook Available- Outline of the principles of history (Grundriss der Historik) : with a biographical sketch of the authorUnlimited User Ebook Available
What Is History Now?Call Number: Cemtral Library Stacks; D16.8 .W5 2002Multiple User Ebook and Print Available
Sovereignty, Property and Empire, 1500-2000Call Number: Law Library Upper Level; KZ1242 .F58 2014Unlimited User Ebook and Print Available
Thinking about property : from antiquity to the age of revolutionUnlimited User Ebook Available
The Transformation of American Law, 1780-1860Call Number: Central Library Stacks; KF366 .H6Unlimited User Ebook and Two Print Copies Available
Two treatises of government : and a letter concerning tolerationUnlimited User Ebook Available
Karl Marx: A ReaderCall Number: Central Library Stacks; HX39.5 .A2 1986Unlimited User Ebook and Print Available
The Lockean MindUnlimited User Ebook Available
A Public Empire: property and the quest for the common good in imperial RussiaCall Number: Law Library Upper Level; KLA3040 .P73 2014Unlimited User Ebook and Print Available
Property and Persuasion: essays on the history, theory, and rhetoric of ownershipCall Number: Central Library Stacks; K720 .R67 1994Unlimited User Ebook and Print Available
Visions of Politics: Volume 1, Regarding MethodUnlimited User Ebook Available
Whigs and Hunters: the origin of the Black actCall Number: Central Library Stacks; KD7852 .B55 T48 1976Two Print Copies Available
The Right to Private PropertyCall Number: Central and Law Library Stacks; JC605 .W36 1988Unlimited User Ebook and Two Print copies Available
Library Perks
- Library PerksVanderbilt Libraries offers a variety of resources and services for research and scholarship. Make sure you don't miss out on any of these library perks for Vanderbilt affiliates.
