History Librarian
Jason Schultz
He/him/his
Contact:
Office: 800FL Central Library
Zoom Office Hours Mondays: 2pm to 3pm (Central Time)
(Click Blue Zoom Icon Below)
Zoom Office Hours Mondays: 2pm to 3pm (Central Time)
(Click Blue Zoom Icon Below)
(615) 875-8311
Website
Getting Started
As a Vanderbilt student you can:
- get help with your research assignments by using Ask A Librarian.
- borrow books and other items from any of the campus libraries (except Special Collections).
- return most items you check out to any library.
- find book drops outside the libraries and at the Commons Center.
- Central Library has a materials budget over Two million dollars.
- Vanderbilt Library subscribes to over 700 databases.
- These resources make up a majority of the Deep Web
- Google, Bing and other familiar search engines capture less than 1% of information on the Web.
- Oxford Dictionary of National Biography This link opens in a new window
Deceased people who have shaped British history and culture, worldwide, from the Romans to the 21st century. Concise, up-to-date biographies written by named, specialist authors.
- Cambridge Histories Online This link opens in a new windowCambridge Histories covering American, British, economic, regional, and general history, language and linguistics, philosophy, religious studies, theatre studies and performing arts, etc.
- Oxford Bibliographies This link opens in a new windowLiterary guide to significant sources on a variety of subjects. Works as an annotated bibliography and a high-level encyclopedia.
- Oxford Research Encyclopedias This link opens in a new windowLong-form overview articles written, peer-reviewed, and edited by leading scholars. Both foundational and cutting-edge topics are covered in order to develop, over time, an anchoring knowledge base for major areas of research.
Access to selected content only. Some articles may not be available. - Very Short Introductions This link opens in a new window
Concise overviews of hundreds of diverse topics from the abstract (Knowledge) to the concrete (Coral Reefs), written by experts in the field who combine facts, analysis, new ideas, and enthusiasm to make challenging topics highly readable.
- Gale Literature: Book Review Index This link opens in a new window
Comprehensive guide to book reviews: cites or links to full-text reviews.
- Historical Abstracts This link opens in a new window
Index of academic historical journals on the history of the world (excluding the United States and Canada) from 1450 to the present, including world history, military history, women's history, history of education, etc.
- JSTOR This link opens in a new windowLarge and important archive for academic journals, books, and primary sources in the humanities, social sciences, and sciences. Many journals do not have current issues.
- ProQuest This link opens in a new window
Search all ProQuest databases simultaneously. Includes arts, humanities, social sciences, news, and science and technology.
- Readers' Guide Retrospective, 1890-1982 This link opens in a new windowIndex of articles from magazines, including full coverage of the original print volumes of Readers’ Guide to Periodical Literature™. Atlantic Monthly, Century Magazine, Christian Century, Commonweal, Foreign Affairs, Fortnightly Review (London), Good Housekeeping, Harper's, Ladies Home Journal, Literary Digest, The Nation, New Republic, Reader's Digest, Saturday Evening Post, Saturday Review, Scribner's, and Women's Home Companion.
The Structural Transformation of the Public SphereCall Number: Central Stacks; HM24 .H2713 1989Three print copies available
The Invention of News: how the world came to know about itselfUnlimited User Ebook Available
Oxford History of Popular Print Culture: Cheap print in Britain and Ireland to 1660Unlimited Ebook Available
For the Sake of Simple Folk: popular propaganda for the German ReformationCall Number: Divinity--1st Floor ; BR307 .S464 1994Two print copies available
Living I Was Your Plague: Martin Luther's world and legacyCall Number: Divinity--1st Floor ; BR332.5 .R66 2021Print and Unlimited User Ebook Available- Popular politics and the English ReformationCall Number: Central LIbrary Stacks ; DA332 .S48 2003Print and Unlimited User Ebook Available
Politics of the Public Sphere in Early Modern EnglandCall Number: Central Library Stacks and Rm. 418A (Vanderbilt Authors Room) ; JN175 .P655 2007
Writing Lives: biography and textuality, identity and representation in early modern EnglandCall Number: Central Library Stacks ; DA317 .W75 2008Print and Unlimited User Ebook Available- Theater of state: Parliament and political culture in early Stuart EnglandUnlimited User Ebook Available
The English Revolution C. 1590-1720: politics, religion and communitiesCall Number: Central Library Stacks ; DA405 .E47 2007Print Only
The Regicides and the Execution of Charles ICall Number: Central Library Stacks ; DA396 .A22 R44 2001Print and Unlimited User Ebook (ON ORDER)
The Pursuit of History: aims, methods and new directions in the study of historyCall Number: Central Stacks ; D13 .T62 2015Print Only
Craft of Research (4th Ed.)Unlimited User Ebook Available- "They Say/I Say": the moves that matter in academic writingCall Number: Central Stacks ; PE1431 .G73 2021Print Only
The Elements of Academic Style: writing for the humanitiesUnlimted User Ebook Available
Library Perks
- Library PerksVanderbilt Libraries offers a variety of resources and services for research and scholarship. Make sure you don't miss out on any of these library perks for Vanderbilt affiliates.
