History Librarian
Zoom Office Hours Mondays: 2pm to 3pm (Central Time)
(Click Blue Zoom Icon Below)
Getting Started
As a Vanderbilt student you can:
- get help with your research assignments by using Ask A Librarian.
- borrow books and other items from any of the campus libraries (except Special Collections).
- return most items you check out to any library.
- find book drops outside the libraries and at the Commons Center.
Experience of Recent Immigrants from Congo (DRC) Living in Nashville
Click Link Above to Submit Answer
- Oxford Bibliographies This link opens in a new windowLiterary guide to significant sources on a variety of subjects. Works as an annotated bibliography and a high-level encyclopedia.
- Oxford Research Encyclopedias This link opens in a new windowLong-form overview articles written, peer-reviewed, and edited by leading scholars. Both foundational and cutting-edge topics are covered in order to develop, over time, an anchoring knowledge base for major areas of research.
Access to selected content only. Some articles may not be available. - Oxford Reference This link opens in a new window
Reference sources published by Oxford University Press. Dictionaries, subject reference works, language reference sources and key titles in the Oxford Companion series. Some examples are: the Oxford-Duden German dictionaries, A Dictionary of Psychology, A Dictionary of Zoology, The Oxford Dictionary of Idioms, A Dictionary of Writers and Their Works, Oxford Companion to Western Art, Oxford Companion to U.S.History, Oxford Companion to Music, Oxford Companion to Philosophy, and The Encyclopedia of Popular Music, etc.
- Cambridge Histories Online This link opens in a new windowCambridge Histories covering American, British, economic, regional, and general history, language and linguistics, philosophy, religious studies, theatre studies and performing arts, etc.
Africa South of the SaharaCall Number: Annex DT 351 .A37Annual covering 1972-2009. Includes economic, historical, political and cultural information on all African countries south of the Sahara.
Encyclopedia of AfricaCall Number: DT3 .E53 2010 Central Library Reference 4th Floor
African RefugeesUnlimited User Ebook Available
Inside Rwanda's Gacaca CourtsCall Number: Central Library Stacks ; KTD157.7 .I54 2016Unlimited User Ebook and Print Available
Rwanda's Gacaca Courts: Between Retribution and ReparationUnlimited User Ebook Available
The Truth and Reconciliation CommissionCall Number: Central Library Stacks; DT1974.2 .B87 2017Print copy only
Roots of African Conflicts: The Causes and CostsCall Number: Central Library Stacks ; HN780 .Z9 V5652 2008Unlimited User Ebook and Print Available
Colonial Systems of ControlUnlimited User Ebook Available
Historiography of GenocideCall Number: Central Library Stacks ; HV6322.7 .H58 2008Unlimited User Ebook and Print Available- Fighting the Mau Mau: the British Army and counter-insurgency in the Kenya EmergencyUnlimited User Ebook Available
When Victims Become Killers: colonialism, nativism, and the genocide in RwandaCall Number: Central Library Stacks ; DT450.435 .M35 2001Unlimited User Ebook and Print Available
Transitional Justice in the Twenty-First CenturyUnlimited User Ebook Available
- Gale Literature: Book Review Index This link opens in a new window
Comprehensive guide to book reviews: cites or links to full-text reviews.
- Historical Abstracts This link opens in a new window
Index of academic historical journals on the history of the world (excluding the United States and Canada) from 1450 to the present, including world history, military history, women's history, history of education, etc.
- JSTOR This link opens in a new windowLarge and important archive for academic journals, books, and primary sources in the humanities, social sciences, and sciences. Many journals do not have current issues.
- ProQuest This link opens in a new window
Search all ProQuest databases simultaneously. Includes arts, humanities, social sciences, news, and science and technology.
- Readers' Guide Retrospective, 1890-1982 This link opens in a new windowIndex of articles from magazines, including full coverage of the original print volumes of Readers’ Guide to Periodical Literature™. Atlantic Monthly, Century Magazine, Christian Century, Commonweal, Foreign Affairs, Fortnightly Review (London), Good Housekeeping, Harper's, Ladies Home Journal, Literary Digest, The Nation, New Republic, Reader's Digest, Saturday Evening Post, Saturday Review, Scribner's, and Women's Home Companion.
- Reviews in HistoryReviews covering all fields of History.
Library Perks
- Library PerksVanderbilt Libraries offers a variety of resources and services for research and scholarship. Make sure you don't miss out on any of these library perks for Vanderbilt affiliates.
