It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Reference content and commentary by renowned scholars in areas such as global Islamic history, concepts, people, practices, politics, and culture. Reference entries, chapters from scholarly and introductory works, Qur'anic materials, primary sources, images, maps, and timelines.
Articles and books on Archaeology, Classical Studies, Criminology and Criminal Justice, History, Philosophy, Political Science, and Sociology. Some content in Business & Management, Economics & Finance, Literature, Psychology, and Religion.
The collection contains: New Pauly Online, Jacoby Online, Encyclopedia of Jews in the Islamic World, Encyclopedia of Ancient Greek Language and Linguistics, Encyclopedia of Hebrew Language and Linguistics, Foreign Law Guide, Encyclopaedia Islamica, Encyclopedia of Women & Islamic Cultures, Qurʾānic Studies Online, Encyclopaedia of Islam.
Index of academic historical journals on the history of the world (excluding the United States and Canada) from 1450 to the present, including world history, military history, women's history, history of education, etc.
Scholarly journals, newspapers, dissertations, and business information. Includes: ABI/INFORM Complete, Accounting & Tax, Banking Information Source, Canadian Newsstand Complete, CBCA Complete, Hoover's Company Profiles, OxResearch, Pharmaceutical News Index, Asian Business & Reference, Biology Journals, Career and Technical Education, Computing, Criminal Justice, Education Journals, European Business, Family Health, Health & Medical Complete, Health Management, Military Collection, Newsstand, Nursing & Allied Health Source, Psychology Journals, Religion, Research Library, Science Journals, Social Science Journals, Telecommunications, Snapshots.
All current Vanderbilt University students, faculty, and staff have access, both on and off campus.
VU Libraries ResearchGuides is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-ShareAlike 4.0 International License. You may republish or adapt this guide for educational purposes, as long as proper credit is given. Our recommended credit includes the statement: Written by, or adapted from, Vanderbilt University Libraries (current as of .....). If you remix, transform, or build upon the material, you must distribute your contributions under the same license as the original.