Your Librarian
Getting Started
Welcome to the Central Library
This guide will introduce you to some of the resources available at the Vanderbilt Libraries that you will need for your assignments for Professor Miller's Digital Heritage: Methods and Practice.
If you need help at any point in your research process, please contact me.
Here is a map of the library. Please take a look.
Resources in Chinese
- CNKI China Reference Works Online Database 中国工具書庫 This link opens in a new windowChinese language reference works including dictionaries, encyclopedia, subject dictionaries, industry directories, and handbooks. Simplified Chinese Interface also available.
Resources in English
- Digital Dictionary of Buddhism (DDB) This link opens in a new windowPan-Buddhist compilation of Chinese logograph-based terms, texts, temple, schools, persons, etc. found in Buddhist canonical sources. Dictionaries and other reference sources are in many Asian languages (Chinese, Japanese, Korean, Pali, Sanskrit and Tibetan).
- Britannica This link opens in a new windowAuthoritative references, including articles from the print Encyclopædia Britannica, articles specially written for Britannica Online, Merriam-Webster’s Collegiate Dictionary, the Britannica Book of the Year, etc.
- Oxford Bibliographies This link opens in a new windowLiterary guide to significant sources on a variety of subjects. Works as an annotated bibliography and a high-level encyclopedia.
- Oxford Reference This link opens in a new windowReference sources published by Oxford University Press. Dictionaries, subject reference works, language reference sources and key titles in the Oxford Companion series. Some examples are: the Oxford-Duden German dictionaries, A Dictionary of Psychology, A Dictionary of Zoology, The Oxford Dictionary of Idioms, A Dictionary of Writers and Their Works, Oxford Companion to Western Art, Oxford Companion to U.S.History, Oxford Companion to Music, Oxford Companion to Philosophy, and The Encyclopedia of Popular Music, etc.
- Oxford Research Encyclopedias This link opens in a new windowLong-form overview articles written, peer-reviewed, and edited by leading scholars. Both foundational and cutting-edge topics are covered in order to develop, over time, an anchoring knowledge base for major areas of research.
Access to selected content only. Some articles may not be available.
Brill's Encyclopedia of China by ISBN: 9789004168633Publication Date: 2008-10-29This is a convenient thousand-page reference on China from its early beginnings, with a clear focus on the modern period from the mid-nineteenth century to the 21st century. Arranged in alphabetical order, it covers the history, geography, society, economy, politics, science, and culture of China. All contributions are written by an international team of European, Asian, Australian and American experts, carefully selected from a wide spectrum of academic disciplines. Originally published and warmly received in German (edited by the GIGA Institute of Asian Studies in Hamburg, published by WBG, Darmstadt, 2003), this English translation, including a statistical data update, will serve both English-language students and faculty in conveniently providing a wealth of reliable and solid information on China. With illustrations, maps, tables, ample indices and bibliographies.
