Welcome to the World of Library Research!
As a Vanderbilt student you can:
- get help with your research assignments by using Ask a Librarian.
- borrow books and other items from any of the campus libraries (except Special Collections).
- return most items you check out to any library.
- find book drops outside the libraries and at the Commons Center.
Urbanism Journals
Useful for finding reviews of older films:
- FIAF International Index to Film Periodicals This link opens in a new windowBibliographical index covering academic and popular film journals. Includes: "International Index to Film Periodicals," "Treasures from Film Archives," and "Documentation Collections."
- Nexis Uni (formerly LexisNexis Academic) This link opens in a new window
News and newspaper stories, federal and state court cases, US law reviews and journals, company profiles and directories. Company Dossier; data on public figures.
- New York Times (ProQuest Historical Newspapers) This link opens in a new window
First-hand accounts and unparalleled coverage of the politics, society and events of the time.
- Project MUSE This link opens in a new window
Digital humanities and social science scholarly journals from university presses and scholarly societies.
- Google News Archive SearchA good resource for finding newspaper movie reviews. The "advanced archive search" options allow you to only retrieve articles from a specified range of dates, which is useful if you're looking for reviews published around the time of the film's release.
Useful for finding reviews of newer films:
- Entertainment Industry Archive This link opens in a new windowA resource containing primary sources for studying the history of the film and entertainment industries, from the era of vaudeville and silent movies through to the 21st century. This collection includes trade magazines covering film, music, broadcasting and theater are included, together with film fan magazines and music press titles
