Connect to Library Resources Wherever You Are!
- Access databases, journals and e-books online using your VUnet ID & password
- Work directly with a librarian!
- Email Stephanie with a question
- Schedule a virtual meeting with Stephanie for in-depth research help
- Need a quick and dirty answer? Connect to us via chat from any library webpage!
- Britannica This link opens in a new windowAuthoritative references, including articles from the print Encyclopædia Britannica, articles specially written for Britannica Online, Merriam-Webster’s Collegiate Dictionary, the Britannica Book of the Year, etc.
- Oxford Art OnlineThe online version of the 34 printed volumes devoted to the visual arts: painting, sculpture, architecture, photography, drawing, and printmaking, as well as decorative arts. Its multicultural approach offers detailed analyses of civilizations from Asia, Africa, the Americas, Europe, and the Pacific, including art forms, cultures, and artists that have previously been neglected. It is full-text with links to color images.
- Oxford Reference Online PremiumGood source for begining your research on many different topics. Brief articles with recommended books and articles.
Architecture and the Historical Imagination: Eugène-Emmanuel Viollet-le-Duc, 1814-1879 by
Hailed as one of the key theoreticians of modernism, Eugène-Emmanuel Viollet-le-Duc was also the most renowned restoration architect of his age, a celebrated medieval archaeologist and a fervent champion of Gothic revivalism. He published some of the most influential texts in the history of modern architecture such as the Dictionnaire raisonné de l'architecture française du XIe au XVIe siècle and Entretiens sur l'architecture, but also studies on warfare, geology and racial history. Martin Bressani expertly traces Viollet-le-Duc's complex intellectual development, mapping the attitudes he adopted toward the past, showing how restoration, in all its layered meaning, shaped his outlook. Through his life journey, we follow the route by which the technological subject was born out of nineteenth-century historicism.
Artistic Integration in Gothic Buildings by
Artistic Integration in Gothic Buildings reassesses the traditional canon through a new pluralism of approaches and presents the Gothic church as an intricate and complex living monument that has been evolving over eight centuries and more.
A Companion to Medieval Art by
"A Companion to Medieval Art" brings together cutting-edge scholarship devoted to the Romanesque and Gothic traditions in Northern Europe.Brings together cutting-edge scholarship devoted to the Romanesque and Gothic traditions in Northern Europe.Contains over 30 original theoretical, historical, and historiographic essays by renowned and emergent scholars.Covers the vibrancy of medieval art from both thematic and sub-disciplinary perspectives.Features an international and ambitious range - from reception, Gregory the Great, collecting, and pilgrimage art, to gender, patronage, the marginal, spolia, and manuscript illumination.
Crossing the Threshold: architecture, iconography and the sacred entrance by
Every day millions of people enter public buildings of many forms and functions: Notre-Dame in Paris, Central Station in New York; the British Museum in London, that are decorated with recessed doorways. None of them is likely to be aware that this style of decoration has been continuously employed for 6500 years in temples, royal palaces, tombs, churches, synagogues and modern public buildings, becoming a symbol of the divine and of a place of worship. During this very long period, from the ancient Near East until today, the world has undergone immense changes, but the concept of the recessed opening was never forgotten or abandoned. What is the secret of its longevity? This unique cultural edifice is not only about architecture, but is a language that defines social order and relations with the ruling power and authorities. These, sometimes highly decorated and elaborate, sometimes simple and understated, thresholds in fact functioned on two communicative levels: first, as a liminal marker demarcating a sacred area and second, to emphasize the social order, as few were permitted to pass through. In this book the history of this eternal symbol is presented for the first time through text, figures and photographs. The authors consider historical, anthropological, sociological, religious and economic factors that reflect the significance of crossing these iconic thresholds according to the concept of the longue durée.
Designs and Ornaments from the Chapels of Notre Dame by Architect and theorist Eugene-Emmanuel Viollet-le-Duc (1814-79), a prominent leader in the French Gothic Revival, was active in the restoration of medieval buildings. In 1845 he undertook one of the greatest projects in the history of restoration: the cleansing and restoration of the Cathedral of Notre-Dame in Paris. For the next twenty-three years he labored at his task, returning the cathedral to its original beauty and charm. This volume is based on a faithful reproduction of the restored mural paintings of the chapels, notable for their originality of design and the soft and subtle harmony of their coloring. The 60 full-page plates lend themselves to numerous graphic arts applications.
- The Foundations of architecture : selections from the Dictionnaire raisonné / introduction by Barry Bergdoll ; translation by Kenneth D. Whitehead. Translation of Viollet-le-duc, Dictionnaire raisonné de l'architecture francaisue du XIe siècle au XVIe siècle
Gothic Architecture and Scholasticism: An Inquiry into Analogy, Arts, Philosophy and Religion in the Middle Ages by
This book is a sublime example of scholarship in its highest form. That being said it is not a book for the casual reader. Panofsky does not insult your intelligence but expects you to think. This book would be an excellent addition, indeed an mandatory one, for any library of history. I would also recommend this book to anyone studying the 12th-13th centuries. I have read and re-read this book again and again soaking up Panofsky's prose and relishing his intensity of thought regarding a shadowy period in our history. It is a mindopener to the mystery of why gothic architecture looks like it does.
Gothic Art by
Gothic art finds its roots in the powerful architecture of the cathedrals of northern France. It is a medieval art movement that evolved throughout Europe over more than 200 years. Leaving curved Roman forms behind, the architects started using flying buttresses and pointed arches to open up cathedrals to daylight. A period of great economic and social change, the Gothic era also saw the development of a new iconography celebrating the Holy Mary in drastic contrast to the fearful themes of dark Roman times. Full of rich changes in all of the various art forms (architecture, sculpture, painting, etc.), Gothic art paved the way for the Italian Renaissance and International Gothic movement."
The Gothic Enterprise: A Guide to Understanding the Medieval Cathedral by
The great Gothic cathedrals of Europe are among the most astonishing achievements of Western culture. Evoking feelings of awe and humility, they make us want to understand what inspired the people who had the audacity to build them. This engrossing book surveys an era that has fired the historical imagination for centuries. In it Robert A. Scott explores why medieval people built Gothic cathedrals, how they built them, what conception of the divine lay behind their creation, and how religious and secular leaders used cathedrals for social and political purposes. As a traveler's companion or a rich source of knowledge for the armchair enthusiast, The Gothic Enterprise helps us understand how ordinary people managed such tremendous feats of physical and creative energy at a time when technology was rudimentary, famine and disease were rampant, the climate was often harsh, and communal life was unstable and incessantly violent. While most books about Gothic cathedrals focus on a particular building or on the cathedrals of a specific region, The Gothic Enterprise considers the idea of the cathedral as a humanly created space. Scott discusses why an impoverished people would commit so many social and personal resources to building something so physically stupendous and what this says about their ideas of the sacred, especially the vital role they ascribed to the divine as a protector against the dangers of everyday life. Scott's narrative offers a wealth of fascinating details concerning daily life during medieval times. The author describes the difficulties master-builders faced in scheduling construction that wouldn't be completed during their own lifetimes, how they managed without adequate numeric systems or paper on which to make detailed drawings, and how climate, natural disasters, wars, variations in the hours of daylight throughout the year, and the celebration of holy days affected the pace and timing of work. Scott also explains such things as the role of relics, the quarrying and transporting of stone, and the incessant conflict cathedral-building projects caused within their communities. Finally, by drawing comparisons between Gothic cathedrals and other monumental building projects, such as Stonehenge, Scott expands our understanding of the human impulses that shape our landscape.
The Gothic Image by
Emile Male's book aids understanding of medieval art and medieval symbolism, and of the vision of the world which presided over the building of the French cathedrals. It looks at French religious art in the Middle Ages, its forms, and especially the Eastern sources of sculptural iconography used in the cathedrals of France. Fully illustrated with many footnotes it acts as a useful guide for the student of Western culture.
ISBN: 0429961367Publication Date: 2018-02-20
The Gothic Screen by
At the heart of Gothic cathedrals, the threshold between nave and sanctuary was marked by the choir screen, a partitioning structure of special complexity, grandeur, and beauty. At once a canopy for altars, a stage for performance, a pedestal for crucifixes and reliquaries, and a ground for spectacular arrays of narrative and iconic sculptures, the choir screen profoundly shaped the spaces of liturgy and social interaction for the diverse communities, both clerical and lay, who shared the church interior. For the first time, this book draws together the most important examples - some fully extant, others known through fragments and graphic sources - from thirteenth- and fourteenth-century France and Germany. Through analyses of both their architectural and sculptural components, Jacqueline E. Jung reveals how these furnishings, far from being barricades or hindrances, were vital vehicles of communication and shapers of a community centered on Christian rituals and stories.
Medieval France by
The first single-volume reference work on the history and culture of medieval France, this information-filled Encyclopedia of over 2,400 entries covers the political, intellectual, literary, and musical history of the country from the early fifth century to the late 15th. The shorter entries offer succinct summaries of the lives of individuals, events, works, cities, monuments, and other important subjects, followed by essential bibliographies. Longer essay-length articles provide interpretive comments about significant institutions and important periods or events. The Encyclopedia is thoroughly cross-referenced and includes a generous selection of illustrations, maps, charts, and genealogies
Notre-Dame : a short history of the meaning of cathedrals by a historical novelist’s personal take on the fire
Notre-Dame: The soul of France by
The profound emotion felt around the world upon seeing images of Notre-Dame in flames opens up a series of questions: Why was everyone so deeply moved? Why does Notre-Dame so clearly crystallise what our civilisation is about? What makes 'Our Lady of Paris' the soul of a nation and a symbol of human achievement? What is it that speaks so directly to us today? In answer, Agnès Poirier turns to the defining moments in Notre-Dame's history. Beginning with the laying of the corner stone in 1163, she recounts the conversion of Henri IV to Catholicism, the coronation of Napoleon, Victor Hugo's nineteenth-century campaign to preserve the cathedral, Baron Haussmann's clearing of the streets in front of it, the Liberation in 1944, the 1950s film of The Hunchback of Notre-Dame, starring Gina Lollobrigida and Anthony Quinn, and the state funeral of Charles de Gaulle, before returning to the present. The conflict over Notre-Dame's reconstruction promises to be fierce. Nothing short of a cultural war is already brewing between the wise and the daring, the sincere and the opportunist, historians and militants, the devout and secularists. It is here that Poirier reveals the deep malaise - gilet jaunes and all - at the heart of the France.
The Royal Image: illustrations of the Grandes chroniques de France, 1274-1422 by
The Grandes Chroniques de France is a vernacular, frequently illustrated history of the medieval French monarchs. Originally describing the lives of the kings from their origins in Troy in 1274 to the reign of Philip Augustus, it was updated in several stages to the life of Charles VI. Copied and amended for a variety of royal and courtly patrons, approximately 130 of these manuscripts exist today. Anne Hedeman provides the first critical and comprehensive study of the chronicle's illustrations. Hedeman concentrates on the illustrations in twenty manuscripts, analyzing their artistic and cultural significance and offering new methods for studying illustrated manuscripts. She discusses the chronicle in relation to the political ideology of Louis IX, vernacular history, and the Latin chronicle tradition at Saint-Denis. Looking at the manuscripts of various periods, the author compares their representations of historical events, kingship, and individuals in and around the royal court. She also contrasts the styles of several authors and illustrators of the chronicle. The Royal Image includes a catalogue of over seventy-five illustrated manuscripts, and an appendix listing the artists. An additional appendix lists surviving manuscripts.
Treatise on Architecture: Including the Arts of Construction, Building, Stone-Masonry, Arch, Carpentry, Roof, Joinery, and Strength of Materials by
The architect Arthur Ashpitel (1807-69) worked on a wide variety of projects, including churches, houses and schools, and wrote widely on architecture, literature and politics. He became a fellow of the Institute of British Architects in 1841 and the Society of Antiquaries of London in 1847. This 1867 work comprises his compilation and revision of notable tracts on architecture from the Encyclopædia Britannica. It includes entries by William Hosking (1800-61) on classical, Gothic and modern architecture, building and construction; Thomas Tredgold (1788-1829) on joinery and stonemasonry; Thomas Young (1773-1829) on carpentry; and John Robison (1739-1805) on roofs, arches and the strength of materials. Intended to be of practical use to architects, craftsmen and 'the building trade', Ashpitel's synthesis remains a valuable resource for scholars interested in nineteenth-century thought on architectural history, practice and technology.
The Cathedral: the social and architectural dynamics of construction by
The popular image of the traditional western city has usually been dominated by the cathedral, whose sheer size seemed to create an isolated physical and spiritual focal point. In this iconoclastic study, the author sets out to reverse some of the romantic myths which have accrued about the medieval cathedral, in particular that the cathedral was a separate entity, self-sufficient, sublime and apart. Here the cathedral is shown to be a dynamic, evolving and unpredictable force in the development of the medieval city. Taking France as the main focus, but including material on England, Germany, Italy, Spain and Bohemia, the author describes the growth of diocesan authority and the consequent experiments in the layout of cathedral plans. Full use is made of recent archaeological research to show how architectural, social, financial and religious considerations combined to form a structure that was above all a practical, functioning concern, a 'city within a city'.
Call Number: Central Library Art Books NA5543 .E7413 1994
Discoveries: Cathedrals and Castles by
Well-written, loaded with information, and with a rich assortment of illustrations, each Discoveries RM volume is a look at one facet of art, archaeology, music, history, philosophy, popular culture, science, or nature. These innovatively designed, affordably priced, compact paperbacks bring ideas to life and amplify our understanding of civilization in a new way.
Call Number: Central Art Books NA350 .E7513 1995
Eloquent Bodies: movement, expression, and the human figure in Gothic sculpture by
A radical reassessment of the role of movement, emotion, and the viewing experience in Gothic sculpture Gothic cathedrals in northern Europe dazzle visitors with arrays of sculpted saints, angels, and noble patrons adorning their portals and interiors. In this highly original and erudite volume, Jacqueline E. Jung explores how medieval sculptors used a form of bodily poetics--involving facial expression, gesture, stance, and torsion--to create meanings beyond conventional iconography and to subtly manipulate spatial dynamics, forging connections between the sculptures and beholders. Filled with more than 500 images that capture the suppleness and dynamism of cathedral sculpture, often through multiple angles, Eloquent Bodies demonstrates how viewers confronted and, in turn, were addressed by sculptures at major cathedrals in France and Germany, from Chartres and Reims to Strasbourg, Bamberg, Magdeburg, and Naumburg. Shedding new light on the charismatic and kinetic qualities of Gothic sculpture, this book also illuminates the ways artistic ingenuity and technical skill converged to enliven sacred spaces.
Call Number: Central Library Art NB180 .J86 2020
The Gargoyles of Notre-Dame by
Most of the seven million people who visit the cathedral of Notre Dame in Paris each year probably do not realize that the legendary gargoyles adorning this medieval masterpiece were not constructed until the nineteenth century. The first comprehensive history of these world-famous monsters, The Gargoyles of Notre-Dame argues that they transformed the iconic thirteenth-century cathedral into a modern monument. Michael Camille begins his long-awaited study by recounting architect Eugène Viollet-le-Duc's ambitious restoration of the structure from 1843 to 1864, when the gargoyles were designed, sculpted by the little-known Victor Pyanet, and installed. These gargoyles, Camille contends, were not mere avatars of the Middle Ages, but rather fresh creations--symbolizing an imagined past--whose modernity lay precisely in their nostalgia. He goes on to map the critical reception and many-layered afterlives of these chimeras, notably in the works of such artists and writers as Charles Méryon, Victor Hugo, and photographer Henri Le Secq. Tracing their eventual evolution into icons of high kitsch, Camille ultimately locates the gargoyles' place in the twentieth-century imagination, exploring interpretations by everyone from Winslow Homer to the Walt Disney Company. Lavishly illustrated with more than three hundred images of its monumental yet whimsical subjects, The Gargoyles of Notre-Dame is a must-read for historians of art and architecture and anyone whose imagination has been sparked by the lovable monsters gazing out over Paris from one of the world's most renowned vantage points.
Call Number: Central Library Art Books NA3549 .P2 C36 2009
Gargoyles and Grotesques by
"All over Europe uncounted numbers of gargoyles and grotesques leer down from the columns and towers of medieval churches and cathedrals. Since these carvings are virtually antipathetic to the aesthetics of Romanesque or Gothic architecture, and since they are certainly not Christian in intention, there must have been very strong reasons underlying their presence.
Call Number: Central Library Art Oversize Books NB170 .S47 1975b
Gothic Stained Glass - 1200 by
The 13th century was a period of the most glorious stained glass, and most of it was produced in France. The text concentrates on that country, and on the masterpieces of Chartres and of Sainte-Chapelle in Paris.
Call Number: Central Library Art Oversize Books NK5349 .A1 G7613 1985
Heaven in Stone and Glass: experiencing the spirituality of the great cathedrals by
In this book, Robert Barron takes readers on a spiritual pilgrimage through the greatest wonders of the Christian world.
Call Number: Divinity--1st Floor BX4629 .A1 B37 2000
High Gothic Structure: a technological reinterpretation by
"The catalogue was published on the occasion of the exhibition at the Art Museum, Princeton University, November 17, 1984-January 13, 1985"
Call Number: Central Library Art Books NA5543 .M27 1984
Holy Terrors: gargoyles on medieval buildings by
Multitudes of gargoyles haunt the medieval buildings of western Europe, peering down from churches and cathedrals, houses and town halls. Holy Terrors offers a fresh and irresistible history of these wildly varied characters -- a society of stone creatures perched high above the workaday world. The true gargoyle is a waterspout, an architectural necessity that medieval artisans transformed into functional fantasies. The informative introduction to Holy Terrors explains everything that is known or conjectured about the history, the construction, the purposes, and the mysterious meanings of these often rude and rowdy characters. The three chapters that follow are devoted to the gargoyles themselves, imaginatively carved of stone in the form of people, real animals, and fantastic beasts. In clear, lively language, Janetta Rebold Benton puts these personality-filled sculptures into the context of medieval life and art and captures their quirky diversity in her engaging color photographs. Concluding the book is an invaluable guide to gargoyle sites throughout western Europe, as well as suggestions for further reading. This is the first book for adults to provide an intelligent and entertaining overview of medieval gargoyles, and it is bound to increase the already abundant legions of gargoyle admirers.
Call Number: Central Library Art Books NB170 .B46 1997
Image on the Edge: the margins of medieval art by
What do they all mean--the lascivious ape, autophagic dragons, potbellied heads, harp-playing asses, arse-kissing priests, and somersaulting jongleurs to be found protruding from the edges of medieval buildings and in the margins of illuminated manuscripts? A groundbreaking, celebrated study of marginalia in mediaeval art, Michael Camille's Image on the Edge explores this riotous realm so often explained away as mere decoration or zany doodles, a place where resistance to social constraints flourished. Along with their loftier subjects of knights and clerics, medieval image-makers focused attention on the underside of society, the excluded and the ejected. Peasants, servants, prostitutes, and beggars all found their place in their artworks, engaged in impudent antics in the margins of prayer-books or, as gargoyles, on the outsides of churches. Camille's essays illuminate how marginality functioned in medieval culture, showing us just how scandalous, subversive, and amazing the art of the time could be.
Call Number: Central Library Art Books N5975 .C36 2019
The Narratives of Gothic Stained Glass by
In this book Wolfgang Kemp examines stained glass painting of early and high Gothic France and England from a variety of perspectives. Examining narrative structure and themes, authors and donors, Kemp compares these works to epic forms and themes in literature. Providing a close analysis of representative works, with a special focus on the stained glass of Sens, Bourges, and Chartres, he also demonstrates that the content of these paintings is as brilliant as their colours. Indeed, he argues that their long narratives make sense when the spectator uses the divisions and dispositions of the lancet, which establish the necessary narrative framework, as a guide. The first study of stained glass from a narratological standpoint, Kemp's ground-breaking work also relates these paintings to their immediate architectural contexts.
Call Number: Central Library Art Books NK5349 .A1 K4613 1997
Notre Dame de Paris by
The cathedral of Notre-Dame de Paris is one of the jewels of the French capital and one of Europe's masterpieces of Gothic architecture. This book describes how the structure derives from a series of progressive building projects begun in the 12th century and erected over the foundations of an ancient cathedral. It recounts in detail the history of the present building's construction and its restoration in the 19th century, paying particular attention to the abundant sculpture, especially the remnants of the 12th and 13th centuries which are now preserved in the Musee de Cluny, and the spectacular stained-glass windows.
Call Number: Central Library Art Oversize Books NA5550 .N7 E7413 1998
Notre-Dame de Paris: the eternal cathedral by
- Notre Dame de Paris is one of the most visited monuments in Europe- E/P/A will aim to allocate parts of the proceeds to the reconstruction effortNotre-Dame de Paris, for 800 years the heart and soul of the City of Lights, was ravaged by fire in April 2019. Since then, people from all over the world have rallied to help restore this extraordinary place. To participate in this effort, E/P/A is reissuing Notre-Dame de Paris: The Eternal Cathedral and will contribute a portion of sales to its reconstruction. With glorious, detailed color photographs and many historical illustrations, this book is expertly written by a noted French historian and will be for many a keepsake of this place of universal devotion.
Call Number: Divinity Library Oversize BX4629.P3 C38 2019
Paris and Her Cathedrals by
"So infectious is R. Howard Bloch's passion for his subject that even those unable to do the traveling required will find in Paris and Her Cathedrals an inspiring guide to these time-hallowed masterpieces of medieval culture." --Colin Jones, author of Paris and The Great Nation Over the years, R. Howard Bloch has become renowned for the insider tours of Paris that he gives to students abroad. Long sought after by travelers and history buffs for his near-encyclopedic knowledge of French cathedrals, the eminent French literature scholar finally shares his expertise with a wider audience. In Paris and Her Cathedrals, six of the most sublime cathedrals in the penumbra of Paris--Saint-Denis, Notre-Dame, Chartres, Sainte-Chapelle, Amiens, Reims--are illumined in magnificent detail as Bloch, taking us from the High Middle Ages to the devastating fire that set Notre-Dame ablaze in 2019, traces the evolution of each in turn. Written from the premise that "seeing is enhanced by knowing," each chapter is organized along the lines of a walk around and then through the space of the cathedral, such that the actual or virtual visitor feels the rich sweep of the church, "the essence of these architectural wonders" (Antonia Felix). Animating the past with lush evocations of architectural splendor--from flying buttresses and jewel-encrusted shrines to hidden burial grounds and secret chambers--Bloch then contextualizes the cathedrals within the annals of French history. Here thrilling tales of kingly intrigue--as in Saint-Chapelle, where the pious King Louis IX amassed relics, including Christ's crown of thorns--and audacious abbots are interspersed with anecdotes about the meeting of aristocratic and everyday life, culminating in "a rich, colorful narrative that clearly but expertly explains the history and symbolism of some of the world's most magnificent buildings" (Ross King). To be read in preparation for an enlightened visit or merely to open a window upon the High Middle Ages in France, Paris and Her Cathedrals is a "revelation," an "indispensable guide" (Garry Wills) to these awe-inspiring structures. Complete with the author's own photographs, this beautifully illustrated volume vitally enhances our understanding of the history of Paris and its environs.
Call Number: ON ORDER
Rose Window: splendour and symbol by
A visually sensational study of the rose window both in its own right and as a central feature of Gothic architecture. Painton Cowen has dedicated his life to the study of rose windows. Here he presents the world's best-known rose windows in over 300 new photographs and line drawings--Paris (Notre Dame), Chartres, Reims, Strasbourg, Cologne, Florence, Siena, Palma de Mallorca, Santa Maria del Mar, and New York's St. John the Divine, as well as many lesser-known, but no less astonishing, examples. Every aspect of the rose window is covered, including its possible origins in the south of Europe, its flowering in thirteenth-century France, the diffusion of styles across Europe, and modern reinterpretations, as well as the powerful geometry behind the designs and the meanings specific to individual examples. Perennial favorites such as the windows at Chartres are dissected and discussed in detail. This book provides unique insights into the development and organization of the rose window and its central position in Gothic architecture through a lucid, illuminating text and carefully selected comparative material that covers the wealth of Gothic creative activity. It also explores the greater meaning of the rose window through numerology, scholasticism, and the concept of heavenly order. 350 illustrations, 300 in color.
Call Number: Central Art Oversize Books NK5308 .C638 2005Sculpture from Notre-Dame, Paris: A Dramatic Discovery by
Call Number: Central Library Art Books NB550 .G65
Stained Glass: Radiant art by
Stained glass is a monumental art, a corporate enterprise dependent on a patron with whom artists blend their voices. Combining the fields now labeled decorative arts, architecture, and painting, the window transforms our experience of space. Windows of colored glass were essential features of medieval and Renaissance buildings. They provided not only light to illuminate the interior but also specific and permanent imagery that proclaimed the importance of place. Commissioned by monks, nuns, bishops, and kings, as well as by merchants, prosperous farmers, and a host of anonymous patrons, these windows vividly reflect the social, religious, civic, and aesthetic values of their eras. Beautifully illustrated with reproductions from the remarkable stained glass collection at the J. Paul Getty Museum, Stained Glass addresses the making of a stained glass window, its iconography and architectural context, the patrons and collectors, and the challenges of restoration and display. The selected works include examples from Austria, Belgium, England, France, Germany, the Netherlands, and Switzerland. Subject matter ranges from monumental religious scenes for Gothic churches to lively heraldic panels made for houses and other secular settings. Integrating comparisons to works of art in other media, such as manuscripts, drawings, and panel paintings, this book encourages the general reader to see stained glass as an element of a broad artistic production.
Call Number: Central Library Art Books NK5306 .R345 2013
Guide to how to Jump Start Your Research!
