Asian Studies Librarian
Library Resources-General References
Welcome to the Central Library
This guide will introduce you to some of the resources available to you at the Vanderbilt Libraries.
Please let us know if you need help at any point in your research process.
Online Resources
- Britannica This link opens in a new windowAuthoritative references, including articles from the print Encyclopædia Britannica, articles specially written for Britannica Online, Merriam-Webster’s Collegiate Dictionary, the Britannica Book of the Year, etc.
- Oxford Art Online This link opens in a new window
Oxford’s art reference works: Grove Art Online, the Benezit Dictionary of Artists, the Encyclopedia of Aesthetics, The Oxford Companion to Western Art, and The Concise Oxford Dictionary of Art Terms.
- Oxford Reference This link opens in a new window
Reference sources published by Oxford University Press. Dictionaries, subject reference works, language reference sources and key titles in the Oxford Companion series. Some examples are: the Oxford-Duden German dictionaries, A Dictionary of Psychology, A Dictionary of Zoology, The Oxford Dictionary of Idioms, A Dictionary of Writers and Their Works, Oxford Companion to Western Art, Oxford Companion to U.S.History, Oxford Companion to Music, Oxford Companion to Philosophy, and The Encyclopedia of Popular Music, etc.
Coexisting Differences: Women Artists in Contemporary Korean Art
The ten artists featured in this book are addressing, in individual voices, their experiences in Korea, as well as more universal subjects like education and social convention. The first group can be categorized as first- generation feminist artists examining women s lives within the context of Korea s history. The second group is dealing with the ambiguity of boundaries in social convention and art. The third group includes artists who reflect political and artistic realities including religion, crafts and design.
Korean Eye
The most influential and significant work on Korean contemporary art and artists to date. Collectors and contemporary art lovers will appreciate the unique visuals of this spectacular book. Following the huge success of Korean Eye Moon Generation - the first international exhibition of Korean contemporary art that previewed in Seoul in May before opening to public acclaim at London's Saatchi Gallery, 5 July - 1 October 2009 - a book featuring 60 of Korea's most renowned contemporary artists. Currently, there is none or very little published information on Korean contemporary art.
Flowering Plums and Curio Cabinets The Culture of Objects in Late Chosŏn Korean Art
The social and economic rise of the chungin class (“middle people” who ranked between the yangban aristocracy and commoners) during the late Chosŏn period (1700–1910) ushered in a world of materialism and commodification of painting and other art objects. Generally overlooked in art history, the chungin contributed to a flourishing art market, especially for ch'aekkori, a new form of still life painting that experimented with Western perspective and illusionism, and a reimagined style of the traditional plum blossom painting genre. Sunglim Kim examines chungin artists and patronage of the visual arts, and their commercial transactions, artistic exchange with China and Japan, and historical writings on art. She also explores the key role of men of chungin background in preserving Korean art heritage in the tumultuous twentieth century, including the work of the modern Korean collector and historian O Se-ch'ang, who memorialized many chungin painters and calligraphers. Revealing a vivid picture of a complex art world. Flowering Plums and Curio Cabinets presents a major reconsideration of late Chosŏn society and its material culture.
The Paintings of Korean Shaman Gods: history, relevance and role as religious icons
This is the first monograph on the subject to be published in English. It comprises 130 full-colour plates of shaman gods. Supported by two introductory chapters 'Reflections on Shaman God Paintings and Shamanism' by Kim Tae-gon, and 'The Shaman God Paintings as an Icon and Its Artistic Qualities'.
Korean Modern: the Matter of Identity: an exploration into modern architecture in an East Asian country
The development of modern architecture in Korea and, more recently, South Korea, is closely tied to the country’s dramatic transformations since the late 19th century. The authors interrogate major periods from the Late Joseon Dynasty to the vibrant democratic present, showing how architecture, by making technological and stylistic leaps, has played a important role in the construction of the nation’s identity.
Heritage Management in Korea and Japan : the politics of antiquity and identity
Imperial tombs, Buddhist architecture, palaces, and art treasures in Korea and Japan have attracted scholars, collectors, and conservators and millions of tourists. As iconic markers of racial and cultural identity at home and abroad, they are embraced as tangible sources of immense national pride and popular must-see destinations. This book provides the first sustained account to highlight how the forces of modernity, nationalism, colonialism, and globalization have contributed to the birth of museums, field disciplines, tourist industry, and heritage management policies. Its chapters trace the history of explorations, preservations, and reconstructions of archaeological monuments from an interregional East Asian comparative perspective in the past century.
Hanok: the Korean House
In recent decades, few nations have transformed themselves as radically as Korea. Amid Seoul's glass-and-steel skyscrapers and luxury apartments, however, the traditional Korean home or Hanok is experiencing a surprising renaissance. Hanok: The Korean House showcases twelve very special Hanok that reflect today's Korea--a country that's putting a modern twist on traditional values. While the exteriors of these houses are indistinguishable from Hanok built decades ago, the interior designs have been completely updated. Traditional materials of stone, wood, and clay are still the only components used in these houses. They also incorporate natural elements such as wind and sunlight, and baesanimsu--known in Chinese as feng shui--used to position the Hanok in harmony with the natural forces and geographical features of the site. But many of these new Hanok owners are architects who have incorporated open floor plans and cutting-edge architectural elements to create a more functional home.
Interpreting Modernism in Korean Art: Fluidity and Fragmentation
This book examines the development of national emblems, photographic portraiture, oil painting, world expositions, modern spaces for art exhibitions, university programs of visual arts, and other agencies of modern art in Korea. With few books on modern art in Korea available in English, this book is an authoritative volume on the topic and provides a comparative perspective on Asian modernism including Japan, China, and India. In turn, these essays also shed a light on Asian reception of and response to the Orientalism and exoticism popular in Europe and North America in the early twentieth century. The book will be of interest to scholars working in art history, the history of Asia, Asian studies, colonialism, nationalism, and cultural identity.
Korean Art From 1953: Collision, Innovation, Interaction
The first comprehensive survey to explore the rich and complex history of contemporary Korean art Starting with the armistice that divided the Korean Peninsula in 1953, this one-of-a-kind book spotlights the artistic movements and collectives that have flourished and evolved throughout Korean culture over the past seven decades - from the 1950s avant-garde through to the feminist scene in the 1970s, the birth of the Gwangju Biennale in the 1990s, the lesser known North Korean art scene, and all the artists who have emerged to secure a place in the international art world.
City As Art: 100 Notable Works of Architecture in Seoul
Fourth in the Contemporary Korean Arts Series, City as Arts: 100 Notable Works of Architecture in Seoul aims at introducing the most notable among Seoul s architecture to visitors and readers from around the world. A city s dignity and stature rely on the preservation of its architecture, which speaks for its history, and also on how effectively its citizens of today can utilize and enjoy them in their everyday lives. One hundred buildings have been selected, based on their significance as historical relic, as work of art and as public facility
Early Korea
Early Korea is dedicated to developing the fields of early Korean history and archaeology in the English language. The present volume consists of six scholarly works by specialists active in these fields. Three studies focus on the topic of recent advances in historical archaeology on the Korean peninsula and adjacent regions and how this is changing the ways historians understand the history of the earliest states on the peninsula. Another study surveys the origins and development of ceramic traditions in Korea based on recently recovered archaeological data. Finally, two studies discuss the practice of heritage management in Korea, focusing on rescue archaeology and heritage protection. 130 color illus.
Korean Art from the 19th Century to the Present
Walk the galleries of any major contemporary art museum and you are sure to see a work by a Korean artist. Interest in modern and contemporary art from South--as well as North--Korea has grown in recent decades, and museums and individual collectors have been eager to tap into this rising market. But few books have helped us understand Korean art and its significance in the art world, and even fewer have told the story of the formation of Korea's contemporary cultural scene and the role artists have played in it. This richly illustrated history tackles these issues, exploring Korean art from the late-nineteenth century to the present day--a period that has seen enormous political, social, and economic change. Charlotte Horlyck covers the critical and revolutionary period that stretches from Korean artists' first encounters with oil paintings in the late nineteenth century to the varied and vibrant creative outputs of the twenty-first. She explores artists' interpretations of new and traditional art forms ranging from oil and ink paintings to video art, multi-media installations, ready-mades, and performance art, showing how artists at every turn have questioned the role of art and artists within society. Opening up this fascinating world to general audiences, this book will appeal to anyone wanting to explore this rich and fascinating era in Korea's cultural history.
Buddhist Architecture of Korea
In his foreword, author Sung-woo Kim says, All people seek after truth. They seek the truth that will explain life and death and help them to make the best of themselves. With Buddhist Architecture of Korea, temples that have dotted the Korean peninsula for almost 2,000 years are examined in great detail, including the role they have played in helping Koreans on their own quest for truth. Buddhist architecture is an integral part of its iconography, making this book indispensable.
A Companion to Korean Art
Korean pop culture has become an international phenomenon in the past few years. The popularity of the nation's exports--movies, K-pop, fashion, television shows, lifestyle and cosmetics products, to name a few--has never been greater in Western society. Despite this heightened interest in contemporary Korean culture, scholarly Western publications on Korean visual arts are scarce and often outdated. A Companion to Korean Art is the first academically-researched anthology on the history of Korean art written in English. This unique anthology brings together essays by renowned scholars from Korea, the US, and Europe, presenting expert insights and exploring the most recent research in the field. Insightful chapters discuss Korean art and visual culture from early historical periods to the present. Subjects include the early paintings of Korea, Buddhist architecture, visual art of the late Chosŏn period, postwar Korean Art, South Korean cinema, and more. Several chapters explore the cultural exchange between the Korean peninsula, the Chinese mainland, and the Japanese archipelago, offering new perspectives on Chinese and Japanese art. The most comprehensive survey of the history of Korean art available, this book: Offers a comprehensive account of Korean visual culture through history, including contemporary developments and trends Presents two dozen articles and numerous high quality illustrations Discusses visual and material artifacts of Korean art kept in various archives and collections worldwide Provides theoretical and interpretive balance on the subject of Korean art Helps instructors and scholars of Asian art history incorporate Korean visual arts in their research and teaching
Modern and Contemporary Art in Korea: Tradition, Modernity, and Identity
Modern and Contemporary Art in Korea deals with issues of tradition, modernity, and identity in modern and contemporary Korean art in Korea. On a deeper level, this is one of the only books of its kind in English that exposes readers to specific artists and their works, an especially useful resource for those who wish to know more than just surface level facts about Korean art.
