Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

ENGL 1260W-04 - Introduction to Literature and Cultural Analysis: Criminal Subjects - Adams: Aeon

What is Aeon?

 

Aeon is a request and workflow management software system which helps Special Collections manage patron requests; track items in transit between locations; organize holds for classes, events, and individuals; and effectively manage reading room requests.  Registered users can view the status of requests, clone previously requested items to request them again, and assign tags to resources to help organize their research.

 

How to request books?

Books In Special Collections and University Archives and the History of Medicine libraries can be requested for use in their reading rooms through the library catalog.  To request a title for use:

Visit the catalog and search for a book in the catalog.  Click on the title to open the item record.

Scroll down to Location. If more than one library owns the title, select the Special Collections copy and click Select for On Site Use.

Book Request Screenshot

Log into Aeon using your ID and password.

Fill in any missing fields which aren't migrated from the catalog.

To tag a resource for a project or other research use, complete the Researcher Tags field using commas to separate terms.

Select the date you want to visit to view the item.

Please give staff at least 48 hours for off-site retrieval.

Please note that appointments must be confirmed by staff.  Contact the library if you need assistance.

Click the Submit Request button to complete your request.

How to request manuscript collections?

Manuscript collections In Special Collections and University Archives and the History of Medicine libraries can be requested for use in their reading rooms through the Collection Guides database.  To request a title for use:

Browse or search for a collection in the catalog.  Click on the title to open the finding aid for the collection.

Use the Collection Organization column on the right to browse the contents of the collection.  Select the item you would like to view.  Once an item is selected, the left column should show the title, box and folder number.  Click the Aeon Request button at the top left of the page.

Manuscript Box Request Button Screenshot

Log into Aeon using your ID and password.

Fill in any missing fields which aren't migrated from the catalog.

To tag a resource for a project or other research use, complete the Researcher Tags field using commas to separate terms.

Select the date you want to visit to view the item.

Please give staff at least 48 hours for off-site retrieval.

Please note that appointments must be confirmed by staff.  Contact the library if you need assistance.

Click the Submit Request button to complete your request.