Librarian
Library Quick Links
Companies/Organizations/Associations
Industry Profiles and Background
- Conference BoardResearch on business management and trends. Select Data and Analysis in the gray bar at tiop of screen. Use the drop-down menu and select Business & Economics Portfolio. Uset he menu at left to select reports from areas including Marketing, Communications, Consumer Dynamics, or Sales.
- HooversIn depth details on 80,000+ international companies & their executives. Includes financials, subsidiaries, trade and business news, and some research/analyst reports. Export balance sheets to Excel.
- IBISWorldLarge collection of industry reports. Use for understanding market size, competitors, drafting business plans, pitch books, benchmarking, forecasting, business valuations, litigation support, due diligence, business environment profiles, and more.
- Mergent IntellectIndustry Profiles: overviews, challenges, trends, executive insight, call prep questions, financials, forecasts, growth rating, and industry drivers. Industries by economic metrics: financial, HR, industry drivers, forecasts.
- ProQuest Historical Annual ReportsHistorical annual reports from North American companies. Company information: financial performance, key officers, competitors, and market trends.
- StatistaQuantitative data, statistics, infographics, and related information compiled from market research institutes, trade publications, scientific journals, and government databases.
Niche Industries
- Business Insights: EssentialsCompany chronologies, company histories, journals, market research reports, market share reports, rankings, recent news, SWOT reports, videos, industry information.
- IBISWorldLarge collection of industry reports. Use for understanding market size, competitors, drafting business plans, pitch books, benchmarking, forecasting, business valuations, litigation support, due diligence, business environment profiles, and more.
Associations, Organizations, Non-profits, NGOs
- Business Source CompleteCovers most business areas: management, marketing, economics, finance, accounting, & international business. Includes company reports, SWOT analyses, working papers, country reports, industry reports, case studies, etc.
- Foundation Directory OnlineExhaustive information of foundations, grantmakers, and grants, including corporate giving programs, grantmaking public charities, sponsoring companies, recently awarded grants, and recently-filed IRS Forms 990 and 990-PF.
- Leadership ConnectContact information for companies, government agencies, congressional offices, law firms, news media outlets, healthcare organizations, and nonprofits. Biographical data for American leaders: emails, phone numbers, addresses, and background info.
- Nonprofit Explorer"View summaries of 3 million tax returns from tax-exempt organizations and see financial details such as their executive compensation and revenue and expenses. You can browse IRS data released since 2013 and access over 9.6 million tax filing documents going back as far as 2001." [Database compiled by ProPublica.]
Key Questions
Key questions to ask about your company or industry of choice include:
- Who *cares* about this product or service? Is it a trade association? Government? Key competitors?
- What is the nature of their idea or product? Does it compete with an existing product/service or replace one that already exists? What's already known about it?
- When will this be needed or used? Is that important in promoting it?
- Where will the person/company be – geography, phase of life, what other demographics matter? What channel will reach them?
- Why does the idea or product have value? Why would someone buy or use it?
► For much more detail and other information-packed databases, see the excellent Walker Management Library Guide Management Communication.
