Librarian
800FN
Welcome to the World of Library Research!
Connect to Library Resources Wherever You Are!
- Access databases, journals and e-books online using your VUnet ID & password
- Work directly with a librarian!
- Email Ramona with questions
- Schedule an in-person or virtual meeting for in-depth research help with Ramona
- Need a quick and dirty answer? Connect to us via chat from any library webpage!
Ancient and Medieval Christianity
Knowing where to start isn't always easy, especially when you're dealing with an unfamiliar subject. Sometimes the best place to start is a subject specific dictionary or encyclopedia. Below is a selected list of online reference resources
- Oxford Bibliographies This link opens in a new windowLiterary guide to significant sources on a variety of subjects. Works as an annotated bibliography and a high-level encyclopedia.
- Oxford Research Encyclopedias This link opens in a new windowLong-form overview articles written, peer-reviewed, and edited by leading scholars. Both foundational and cutting-edge topics are covered in order to develop, over time, an anchoring knowledge base for major areas of research.
Access to selected content only. Some articles may not be available. - New Pauly This link opens in a new window
Encyclopaedic coverage of the second millennium BCE to early medieval Europe; with special emphasis on the interaction between Greco-Roman culture and Semitic, Celtic, Germanic, and Slavonic culture, and ancient Judaism, Christianity, and Islam. Also includes the aftermath of antiquity and the process of continuous reinterpretation and revaluation of ancient heritage, and the history of classical scholarship.
- Cambridge Histories Online This link opens in a new windowTitles of interest: The Cambridge History of Christianity, 9 vols.
- Oxford Art Online This link opens in a new window
Oxford’s art reference works: Grove Art Online, the Benezit Dictionary of Artists, the Encyclopedia of Aesthetics, The Oxford Companion to Western Art, and The Concise Oxford Dictionary of Art Terms.
Brill Encyclopedia of Early ChristianityCall Number: Available Online
The Oxford Dictionary of the Christian Church by Call Number: Available OnlineISBN: 9780199642465Publication Date: 2022-05-17
The Encyclopedia of Ancient History by ISBN: 9781405179355
The Oxford Dictionary of the Classical World by Call Number: Available OnlineISBN: 9780192801463Publication Date: 2007-04-02
