Handbooks & Manuals
- AccessPharmacy This link opens in a new windowTextbooks on pharmacy and clinical medicine, drug news, and learning opportunities. Content from FDA MedWatch; information on herbs and supplements; dosage calculators; drug monographs; patient handouts; videos, images, and pharmacology lectures; case studies; self-assessment tests (NAPLEX).
- STAT!Ref This link opens in a new window
Large collection of quick medical reference books and textbooks; includes core medical textbooks.
- Handbook of Chemistry and Physics (CRC) This link opens in a new windowElectronic version of the CRC Handbook of Chemistry and Physics. Includes many updated and expanded tables: Fundamental Physical Constants (the new set of CODATA recommended values, replacing the 1986 set); The Elements (descriptive texts on the occurrence, properties, history, and uses of all the chemical elements); Dissociation Constants of Organic Acids and Bases (expanded by 50%); Dipole Moments (revised and expanded); Threshold Limits for Airborne Contaminants (including the most recent recommendations).
- Knovel (Online Interactive Science and Engineering Books and Databases) This link opens in a new windowReference books and databases from sci-tech publishers.**Off campus access to Knovel’s content requires you to register for Knovel temporarily. Use this link:
http://app.knovel.com/web/register.html?orgregkey=22cc49dd-0b5f-4acb-9dce-aa33a4219721 and complete a short registration form. Register with your Vanderbilt email address. Once you activate your account, you will have off-campus access to Knovel.
Journal Articles and Chemical Information
- Embase This link opens in a new windowCitations and abstracts to international journal literature and conference abstracts covering biomedicine and worldwide drug literature focused on the pharmaceutical industry: effects, use, and administration of all current, potential and experimental drugs, side effects, manufacturers, and trade names of approved and prospective drugs. This database also includes journals not covered by MEDLINE.
- PubChemPubChem mostly contains small molecules, but also larger molecules such as nucleotides, carbohydrates, lipids, peptides, and chemically-modified macromolecules. We collect information on chemical structures, identifiers, chemical and physical properties, biological activities, patents, health, safety, toxicity data, and many others.
- Web of Science This link opens in a new window
Citation database from journals and international conference proceedings. Cross-search of the Web of Science Core Collection, BIOSIS Previews, and the SciELO Citation Index (Latin America, Spain, Portugal, the Caribbean and South Africa).
- Reaxys This link opens in a new window
Chemical reactions, chemical substances and measured substance property data from chemistry journals and organic chemistry patent publications. Synthesis planner and the ability to generate a structure query from a name. Reaxys Xcelerate Direct enables fast insights into the data as well as instantaneous synthesis planning.
- SciFinder-n This link opens in a new windowProvides integrated access to authoritative references, substances, and reactions in chemistry and related sciences. New Scifinder platform with PatentPak and MethodsNow.
