Your Librarian
Zoom Meetings
(Click Blue Zoom Icon Below)
Getting Started
As a Vanderbilt student you can:
- get help with your research assignments by using Ask A Librarian.
- borrow books and other items from any of the campus libraries (except Special Collections).
- return most items you check out to any library.
- find book drops outside the libraries and at the Commons Center.
Image Courtesy of CNN Money.
-
Africana: the encyclopedia of the African and African American experience
Call Number: Central Reference (4th Floor); DT14 .A37435 2005
-
Oxford African American Studies Center This link opens in a new windowArticles primary source documents, images, maps, charts, tables, and government documents from five Oxford University Press encyclopedias and reference sources. Also includes The African American National Biography.
-
Oxford Bibliographies This link opens in a new window
Literary guide to significant sources on a variety of subjects. Works as an annotated bibliography and a high-level encyclopedia.
-
Cambridge Histories Online This link opens in a new windowCambridge Histories covering American, British, economic, regional, and general history, language and linguistics, philosophy, religious studies, theatre studies and performing arts, etc.
-
Very Short Introductions (Oxford)Concise overviews of hundreds of diverse topics from the abstract (Knowledge) to the concrete (Coral Reefs), written by experts in the field who combine facts, analysis, new ideas, and enthusiasm to make challenging topics highly readable.
-
Gale Literature: Book Review Index This link opens in a new window
Comprehensive guide to book reviews: cites or links to full-text reviews.
-
Historical Abstracts This link opens in a new window
Index of academic historical journals on the history of the world (excluding the United States and Canada) from 1450 to the present, including world history, military history, women's history, history of education, etc.
-
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Large and important archive for academic journals, books, and primary sources in the humanities, social sciences, and sciences. Many journals do not have current issues.
-
MLA International Bibliography This link opens in a new window
Subject indexing of journals, books, proceedings, and dissertations in the areas of literature, language and linguistics, folklore, film, literary theory & criticism, dramatic arts, and the historical aspects of printing and publishing.
-
ProQuest This link opens in a new window
Search all ProQuest databases simultaneously. Includes arts, humanities, social sciences, news, and science and technology.
-
African Religions: A Very Short Introduction
Call Number: Central Library 4th Floor Very Short Introductions ; VSI 377Three User Ebook and Two Print Copies Available -
Black Liturgies: prayers, poems, and meditations for staying human
Three User Ebook Available -
Working the Spirit: Ceremonies of the African Diaspora
Call Number: Divinity--1st Floor ; BL2490 .M87 1994Single User Ebook and Print Book Available -
Parable of the Sower
Unlimited User Ebook Available -
The Salt Eaters
Call Number: Central Library Stacks; PS3552.A473 S2 1980Print Available, Three Single User Ebooks ON ORDER -
Paradise
Call Number: Central LIbrary Stacks; PS3563 .O8749 P37 1998bTwo Print Copies Available, Three User Book ON ORDER
CLASS READINGS
-
Religion and the Pure Principles of Morality
Digital version Available -
Slave Religion: the "invisible institution" in the antebellum South
Call Number: Divinity--1st Floor ; BR563 .N4 R25 2004Print and Unlimited User Ebook Available -
African Religions: symbol, ritual, and community
Call Number: Divinity--1st Floor ; BL2400 .R34 2000Print Available -
The Spirituality of African Peoples
Call Number: Divinity--1st Floor ; BR563 .N4 P38 1995Print Book Available -
African Religion: the moral traditions of abundant life
Call Number: Divinity--1st Floor ; BL2462.5 .M34 1997Print Available, Unlimited User Ebook ON ORDER -
Plantation Church: how African American religion was born in Caribbean slavery
Call Number: Divinity--1st Floor ; BR563 .N4 E77 2014Print and Unlimited User Ebook Available -
Creole religions of the Caribbean : an introduction
Unlimited User Ebook Available -
Exchanging Our Country Marks
Call Number: Central LibraryStacks ; E185.15 .G18 1998Print and Unlimited User Ebook Available
-
Kanopy This link opens in a new window
On-demand streaming video service for documentaries, training films, and theatrical releases. Films under a current license agreement are available for immediate viewing. Other films may require a request through the Kanopy site. Viewing films in a group forum is permitted as long as the viewing is by Vanderbilt authorized viewers only (current faculty, staff, or students) and it is not for commercial benefit (i.e. no admission costs are charged and no profit is made from the screening).
-
Complexities of race : identity, power, and justice in an evolving America
Unlimited User Ebook Available for "Islam and Hip Hop in Black America" chapter. -
“Ring Shout”: A Corporeal Conjuring of Black-Togetherness
From Dance Research Journal. Digital version available.
-
Sexuality and the Black Church: A Womanist Perspective
Call Number: Divinity--1st Floor ; BT83.9 .D68 1999Print and Unlimited User Ebook Available
-
Our Lives Matter: a womanist queer theology
Call Number: Divinity--1st Floor ; BT83.55 .L54 2015Print and Unlimited User Ebook Available -
Black Church: Episode Two
Streaming Film via Academic Video Online
-
TALKING TO THE DEAD: RELIGION, MUSIC, AND LIVED MEMORY AMONG GULLAH/GEECHEE WOMEN
Call Number: Central Library Stacks; E185.93.S7 M36 2014Unlimited User Ebook and Print Available
Library Perks
-
Library PerksVanderbilt Libraries offers a variety of resources and services for research and scholarship. Make sure you don't miss out on any of these library perks for Vanderbilt affiliates.
