Industry Research
To develop an understanding of an industry, you must understand its structure. For a large industry, information is easy to find. For smaller industries, which may be fairly new or filled with "mom-n-pop" and private businesses, a different approach is needed. Examples of where you may find industry information include:
- Analyst reports
- Market research reports
- News articles
- Industry experts
- Trade or professional association
Using these sources enables you to find out what information already exists, see the opinions and ideas of experts, and reach your own conclusions based on facts and analysis.
Database: First Research
If you only have time for one industry database, use First Research. Search by industry or company name (if it is a large player.)
First Research has:
- Call Prep Sheets: Highlights industry analysts' concerns.
- Industry overviews and challenges
- Trends and Opportunities
- Executive insights
In the unlikely event that your industry is not there, find a related industry.
- EXAMPLE: If you are interested in Pixar, look at "Motion Picture Production and Distribution" and also "Graphic Design."
Note: use the Web Links to find leading organizations with an interest in this sector for more industry information
Database: IBISWorld

IBISWorld: Global industry market research reports include insight on the business environment. Search by industry name, NAICS code or company name.
Industry reports include:
- Industry Performance
- Industry Outlook
- Industry Life Cycle
- Products & Markets
- Competitive Landscape
- Major Companies
- Operating Conditions
- Key Statistics
- Jargon & Glossary
Database: OneSource
Contains company profiles, analyst and market reports, SWOTs, and SEC filings.
Example of SWOT analysis from OneSource:

Database: S&P NetAdvantage

S&P NetAdvantage: You can search either by Company Name or Industry to see what S&P's analysts are saying.
Industry Surveys include:
- Industry Trends, Ratios & Statistics
- Comparative Company Analysis
- Insight into how the industry operates
Niche and Fragmented Industries
For niche or fragmented industries, think about who cares about the industry. It might not be gathered all nicely and packaged for you. You may need to rely on industry experts using First Research’s web links described above. Business news and articles will also help by looking for similar products, competitors, ideas, etc.
- Business Source Premier Covers most subject areas related to business: management, marketing, economics, finance, accounting, & international business. Includes company reports, SWOT analyses, working papers, country reports, industry reports, case studies, etc.
- ProQuest Central A multi-disciplinary database with full text availability for nearly 2,000 journals in all academic fields. It includes same-day, full-text coverage of the Wall Street Journal.
- Factiva Full-text of business magazines, trade publications, & newspapers including the Wall Street Journal. Use the submenus to refine your search by source, company, subject, industry, region and/or language.
- TableBase Contains tables & text excerpted from numerous publications. Using the ADVANCED SEARCH option, users can limit searches by choosing from lists of concept terms, marketing terms, countries, industries, & document types.
Walker Management Library |
Contact Info Walker Management Library Owen Graduate School of Management 401 21st. Avenue South Nashville, TN 37203 (615) 322-2970 Send Email |


Loading...
