Skip to main content

Researching Buildings on Campus: Photographic Archives

This guide provides tips and resources for researching campus buildings.

About Photographic Archives

The Vanderbilt University Photographic Archives contains photographs relating to the history of Vanderbilt University and George Peabody College.  It includes photographs, slides, negatives, lantern slides, and other photographic processes.

Photographic Archives

Vanderbilt University Photographic Archives

The Vanderbilt University Photographic Archives contains photographic images of the Vanderbilt University community from the founding of the university in 1875 up to early 2000.  The archives includes images of buildings, campus scenes, portraits, group photos, construction scenes and other topics.

George Peabody College Photographic Archives

The George Peabody College Photographic Archives contains images of the Peabody College community from its early incarnation as the University of Nashville to its merger with Vanderbilt University in 1979.  The archives includes campus scenes, portraits, group photos, campus scenes, graduation class photos, and other topics.

Access to the Collection

To make an appointment to view images in these collections, call the library at 615-322-2807 (2-2807 on campus) or e-mail us at specialcollections@vanderbilt.edu. 

Public Services Archivist

Teresa Gray's picture
Teresa Gray
Contact:
Special Collections & University Archives
615-343-2187
Website
Subjects:Primary Sources