Skip to main content

Researching Buildings on Campus: Newspapers, Magazines, and Journals

This guide provides tips and resources for researching campus buildings.

About Newspapers and Magazines

The newspapers, magazines, and journals listed here may include coverage of building construction or renovation on campus.  Indexes for these titles are listed when they are available for the publication.

Alumni publications can be great resources for local happenings on campus.  Year book photos can help document the evolution of the campus environment.  Local newspapers sometimes run historical retrospectives, a wonderful source for locating dates which can guide a search through back issues of the publication.

Newspapers, Magazines, and Journals

Newspapers:

Index to the Tennessean and the Nashville Banner.  Sanford, North Carolina: Microfilming Corporation of America.
On microfiche; covers years 1978 to 1992.
MiFiche 304

The Nashville Banner.  Nashville, Tennessee.
On microfilm, covers 1940 to 1998.  For earlier issues and the Banner Archives, visit the Nashville Room at the Nashville Public Library.  Web access is available for April 28, 1995-February 20, 1998.
MiFilm 2129

The Nashville Tennessean.  Nashville, Tennessee: Tennessean Publishing Company.
On microfilm, covers 1940 to present. Web Access is available for recent years.  For earlier issues, visit the Nashville Room at the Nashville Public Library.
MiFilm 2000

Peabody Post.  Nashville, Tennessee: George Peabody College for Teachers.
On microfilm in Special Collections, covers 1947-1979.  Ask at the Public Service Desk for assistance.

Vanderbilt Hustler.  Nashville, Tennessee: Vanderbilt Student Communications.
Student newspaper of Vanderbilt University.  Central Library has issues 1888-1985; Special Collections covers issues from 1888 to present; Web Access is available for 1998 to present.
LH1 .V25 V35

Vanderbilt Register.  Nashville, Tennessee: Vanderbilt University.
On microfilm in Special Collections, covers issues from 1980 to 2006; Web Access covers issues from 1995 to 2007. 

Magazines and Journals:

Vanderbilt Alumnus Magazine.  Nashville, Tennessee: Alumni Association of Vanderbilt University.
Special Collections Library, covers issues from 1915 to present; Web Access covers issues from 2000 to present.  Index available on microfiche covering 1915 to 1997.  Also known as Vanderbilt Magazine.
LH1 .V25 A4

The Reflector.  Nashville, Tennessee: Published jointly by the College and the Alumni Association of George Peabody College for Teachers.
Alumni magazine for Peabody College.  Also published as The Reflector, Peabody Reflector and Alumni News, and Peabody Alumni News.  Covers 1941-present.  Index available.
LH1 .G28 P4

Public Services Archivist

Teresa Gray's picture
Teresa Gray
Contact:
Special Collections & University Archives
615-343-2187
Website