Skip to main content

Researching Buildings on Campus: Useful Links

This guide provides tips and resources for researching campus buildings.

Getting Help

If you need assistance, you can call (615-322-2807) or e-mail (archives@vanderbilt.edu) the library and request a consultation with a librarian.

Useful Links

APA Style
Online APA Style Manual at the American Psychological Association web site.  Includes a blog which addresses frequently asked questions.

The Chicago Manual of Style Online
University of Chicago Press

Nashville Public Library
Explore NPL's local history collection at the Main Library for background on historical events driving the university's growth. 

Sanborn Maps (Tennessee, 1867-1970)
Database of highly detailed insurance maps.  Browse the maps by city, select a year, then view detailed images of streets.  Some locations are even marked for future construction.

Vanderbilt Television News Archive
Keyword searchable video archive of television news footage.  Subscribing institutions can view news clips online using RealPlayer.

Vanderbilt University
Home page for Vanderbilt University.  Keyword search the site for recent news on building construction and renovation.

Vanderbilt University Campus Map
Interactive map of the campus.  Select names from the building list for a thumnail sketch of the history of the building.

The Writer's Handbook: MLA Documentation Guide
The Writing Center, University of Wisconsin-Madison

Public Services Archivist

Teresa Gray's picture
Teresa Gray
Contact:
Special Collections & University Archives
615-343-2187
Website