Skip to main content

Researching Buildings on Campus: Books

This guide provides tips and resources for researching campus buildings.

About Books

The books on this list are a selection of available titles.  Additional resources may be found by searching the library's catalog, Library Catalog, or the library's discovery tool, Library Catalog

Some of the titles may be available in multiple campus libraries as well as online.  Check Library Catalog for holdings information to see which libraries own copies of these titles.

Books

Bulletin of Vanderbilt University.  Nashville, Tennessee: Vanderbilt University.
Published 1875 to present.  Includes campus maps and descriptions of buildings, academic departments, and course descriptions.  Known alternately as The Register, The Announcement, and Catalog of Vanderbilt University.
LD5577 .V35

Bulletin of Peabody College.  Nashville, Tennessee: George Peabody College for Teachers.
Published 1914 to present.  Includes campus maps and descriptions of buildings, academic departments, and course descriptions.
LB1960 .N26 A345

The Commodore [year book].  Nashville, Tennessee: Vanderbilt University.
Published 1887 to present.  Includes photographs of campus.  Known as The Comet from 1887 to 1909.
LD5597 .C65

The Garnet and Blue [year book].  Nashville, Tennessee: Pi Alpha Epsilon Fraternity, University of Nashville.
Published 1902-1904, 1908-1911.  Includes photographs of the original Peabody College campus near Rutledge Hill.  See also The Pillar.
LD3618 .G376

Conkin, Paul Keith.  Gone with the Ivy : A Biography of Vanderbilt University.  Knoxville, Tennessee: University of Tennessee Press, c1985.
Comprehensive history of Vanderbilt University, fully indexed.
LD5588 .C66 1985

Conkin, Paul Keith.  Peabody College : From a Frontier Academy to the Frontiers of Teaching and Learning.  Nashville, Tennessee: Vanderbilt University Press, 2002.
Comprehensive history of Peabody College, fully indexed.
LB2193 .N297 C66 2002

 McGaw, Robert A.  The Vanderbilt Campus : A Pictorial History.  Nashville, Tennessee: Vanderbilt University, c1978.
Historical overview of development of Vanderbilt University's campus, from 1875 to the mid-1970s.  Includes index.
LD5588 .M33

The Pillar [year book].  Nashville, Tennessee:
Year book for Peabody College, covers 1949-1979.
LB1960 .N26 P5

 

Public Services Archivist

Teresa Gray's picture
Teresa Gray
Contact:
Special Collections & University Archives
615-343-2187
Website
Subjects:Primary Sources