Skip to main content

Researching Buildings on Campus: University Archives

This guide provides tips and resources for researching campus buildings.

About University Archives

University archives usually contain documents generated by a university in its day-to-day operations.  Such documents may include memorandums, correspondence, flyers, brochures, publications, internal department manuals, and other material.

University Archives

The University Archives has historical material relating to the development of the campus.  Documents in the Archives may include departmental reports, plans for renovation, correspondence relating to building use or maintenance, and other related topics.

For information on Vanderbilt University material in the University Archives, see our list of holdings on the University Archives web site

George Peabody College archives are housed separately and have a paper-based finding aid which is available in Special Collections.

Please note: Due to sensitive material which may be present in the Archives, the most recent 40 years of material is closed to public research.  Material prior to this date is available for research.  Records which are restricted regardless of date include the following:

  • student records;
  • employment records;
  • Campus Planning records;
  • University Registrar records;
  • Office of the Provost;
  • General Counsel records.

For help in accessing archival material, please contact the library by phone at 322-2807 (2-2807 on campus) or by e-mail at archives@vanderbilt.edu.

Public Services Archivist

Teresa Gray's picture
Teresa Gray
Contact:
Special Collections & University Archives
615-343-2187
Website
Subjects:Primary Sources