Special Education: Reference Sources

These encyclopedias and handbooks on special education and related topics can help you get started on a research project or give you ideas for new avenues of research.

SAGE Handbook of Special Education. (Los Angeles: SAGE, 2014)
(Online and print: LC3965 .S235 2014--Peabody Library stacks)

Encyclopedia of Special Education. 3 volumes. (Hoboken, NJ: Wiley, 2007)
(Print only: LC4007 .E53 2007 -- Peabody Library reference)

Assistive Technology Assessment Handbook, 2nd ed. (Boca Raton, FL: CRC Press, 2017)
(Online only)

Handbook of Research-Based Practices for Educating Students with Intellectual Disability. (New York, NY: Routledge, 2018)
(Online only)

Cambridge Handbook of Behavior Change. (Cambridge, 2020)
(Print only: RC489 .B4 H36 2020 -- Peabody Library stacks)

Cambridge Handbook of Bilingualism. (Cambridge: Cambridge UP, 2019)
(Online only)

Cambridge Handbook of Child Language. 2nd ed. (Cambridge, UK: Cambridge UP, 2015)
(Online only)

Cambridge Handbook of Cognition and Education (Cambridge: Camridge UP, 2019)
(Online only)

Cambridge Handbook of Communication Disorders. (Cambridge, UK: Cambridge UP, 2013)
(Online only)

Child Development: A Practitioner's Guide. 4th ed. (Guilford, 2020)
(Online only)

Encyclopedia of Bilingual Education. 2 volumes. (Los Angeles: Sage, 2008)
(Online and print: LC3707 .E523 2008 -- Peabody Library reference)

Encyclopedia of Educational Theory and Philosophy. (Sage, 2014).
(Online only)

Encyclopedia of Giftedness, Creativity, and Talent. 2 volumes. (Thousand Oaks, CA: Sage, 2009)
(Print only: LC3993.2 .E63 2009 -- Peabody Library reference)

Encyclopedia of Language and Education. 8 volumes. (Boston: Kluwer, 1997)
(Print only: P40.8 .E53 -- Peabody Library reference)

SAGE Encyclopedia of Contemporary Early Childhood Education. 3 volumes. (Thousand Oaks, CA: Sage, 2016)
(Print only: LB1139.23 .S245 2016 -- Peabody Library stacks)

Sage Handbook of Autism and Education. (Sage, 2019)
(Online and print: LC4717 .S24 2019--Peabody Library stacks)

The Sage Handbook of Gifted and Talented Education. (London: Sage, 2019)
(Online only)

Handbook of Autism and Pervasive Developmental Disorders. (Hoboken, NJ: Wiley, 2014)
(Online only)

Adolescents with Autism Spectrum Disorder: A Clinical Handbook. (New York: Oxford UP, 2018)
(Print only: RC553 .A88 A37 2018 -- Peabody Library stacks)

Handbook of Early Childhood Special Education. (Switzerland: Springer, 2016)
(Print only: LC4801 .H353 2016 -- Peabody Library stacks)

Handbook of Language and Speech Disorders. (Chichester, UK: Wiley-Blackwell, 2010)
(Online only)

Handbook of Leadership and Administration for Special Education. 2nd ed. (Routledge, 2019)
(Print only: LC3969.45 .H35 2019 -- Peabody Library stacks)

Handbook of Parenting and Child Development Across the Lifespan. (Cham, Switzerland: Springer, 2018)
(Online only)

Handbook of Pediatric Psychological Screening and Assessment in Primary Care. (New York: Routledge, 2018)
(Online only)

Handbook of Research on Reading Comprehension, 2nd ed. (New York: Guilford, 2017)
(Online only)

Handbook of Response to Intervention in Early Childhood. (Brookes, 2013)
(Online only)

Handbook of Childhood Psychopathology and Developmental Disabilities Assessment (Cham, Switzerland: Springer, 2018)
(Online only)

Handbook of Learning Disabilities. 2nd ed. (New York: Guilford Press, 2013)
(Online; 1st edition print: LC4704 .H364 2003 -- Peabody Library stacks)

Handbook of Research on Special Education Teacher Preparation. (New York: Routledge, 2014)
(Print only: LC3969.45 .H345 2014 -- Peabody Library stacks)

Handbook of Reading Disability Research. (New York: Routledge, 2011)
(Print only: LB1050.5 .H265 2011--Peabody Library stacks)

Handbook of Reading Research. 5 volumes. (New York: Longman, 1984 -  )
(Print only: LB1050 .H278 1984 -- Peabody Library stacks)

Intellectual Disability: Definition, Classification, and Systems of Supports. 11th ed. (AAIDD, 2011)
(Print only: RC570 .C515 2010 -- Peabody Library reference)

International Handbook of Mathematical Learning Difficulties: From the Laboratory to the Classroom. (Cham, Switzerland: Springer, 2019)
(Online only)

Oxford Handbook of Dialectical Behaviour Therapy. (Oxford, UK: Oxford UP, 2019)
(Online only)

Oxford Handbook of Positive Psychology and Disability. (New York: Oxford UP, 2013)
(Online and print: BF204.6 .O953 2013 -- Peabody Library stacks)

Yearbook of Education Law
(Online from 1997 ; online 1933-1942 ; print 1950-2002 : KF4102.5 .Y4 -- Peabody Library stacks)

Wiley Handbook of Diversity in Special Education. (Malden, MA: Wiley, 2017)
(Online only)

The Diagnostic and Statistical Manual of Mental Disorders, Fifth Edition, Text Revision (often abbreviated DSM-5-TR) is the standard reference for information on the classification and diagnosis of psychiatric disorders. You can find a print copy in the reference sections of Peabody and Central Libraries (call number RC455.2 .C4 D54). Or you can read DSM-5-TR online here. See also the DSM-5 Handbook of Differential Diagnosis and DSM-5 Clinical Cases.