Finding Scholarly Articles
Oxford Bibliographies: Buddhism is great for secondary sources as well as primary sources.
But there are many other options as well. Here are just a few of the most relevant (and if this isn't enough, here's an even longer list):
-
A.T.L.A. Religion Database with A.T.L.A. Serials PlusThe premier database for religious studies and theology. Growing inclusion of secondary literature on religious traditions beyond Christianity and Judaism.
-
MLA International BibliographyThe premier database for literary studies research in North America. Includes theater and film criticism as well. Useful for finding secondary literature on Hermann Hesse and the Beats.
-
JSTORProvides complete electronic backfiles of core journals in a variety of subjects, including Asian Studies.
-
Bibliography of Asian Studies Online (BAS)The BAS Online contains references on all subjects (especially the Humanities and Social Sciences) pertaining to East, Southeast, and South Asia published worldwide from 1971 to the present. The database includes references to books, journal articles, chapters in edited volumes, and conference proceedings.
Get Fulltext - For Free
What is 
?
provides direct links from a database citation to the fulltext of the article (if available) and other supporting resources.
An FAQ for is also available.
Finding Books
Use the library catalog to find out what books Vanderbilt owns or provides access to.
Let's say you want to find secondary sources on Dharma Bums. You could try searching for this book title, but you may want to search more broadly for jack kerouac (it's likely there are books on Dharma Bums that might be missed by the narrower search for the title).
Choose the Advanced Search.
Enter jack kerouac in a search field. Make sure you select "Library Catalog" above the search fields and "Subject" from the dropdown next to the search field. Do the search.
Your results will be in relevance-ranked order. If you want to see newer stuff first, sort by newest-first:
