Your Librarian
Great Places to Start
Consult one of these specialized online encyclopedias for background information. Click on the title to link to the book.
As a Vanderbilt student you can:
- get help with your research assignments by using Ask a Librarian.
- borrow books and other items from any of the campus libraries (except Special Collections).
- return most items you check out to any library.
- find book drops outside the libraries and at the Commons Center.
Choose Topic
If your professor has not assigned you a topic, choose an area of interest.
General Overview
Do some background research using a specialized subject encyclopedia, reference book, handbook, etc. In this step you can
- Get an overview of a new or complex topic
- Find authoritative information
- Find out the names of key players, authors, theorists in a given area
- Locate terms that you can use in your research
- Help narrow (or expand) your topic
- Locate a bibliography of sources to help you start your research.
Narrow to research question
Narrow the subject into a research question and start an outline. The VU Writing Studio has a great handout on this topic.
Type and amount of info
How long is your paper? A five page paper may require fewer sources than does a ten page paper. Has your professor asked you to use specific types of sources (e.g. scholarly, peer reviewed articles, books, newspaper articles, statistics)?
Choose tools to search
Select a subject specific database or Library Catalog. Search for information you think can help you with your paper topic. This is also a good time to select your search terms based on your topic. This handout provides more detail on how to do this.
Evaluate search results/sources
Look at your results, author credentials, read abstracts, skim the articles. Do the articles help you accomplish your purpose? Don't rely on database ranking to do this for you.
Apply sources to your paper
This is the stage where you connect your research to your writing. For articles you find helpful, you may want to take notes or summarize. This handout from the VU Writing Studio provides more detail.
Repeat as necessary
Once you've started writing, you may find that you need additional sources for your paper. You may want to change your search terms when searching a database or select another database. Add additional sources to your paper.
Take advantage of one of the most useful and time-saving services the Library offers: personalized, one-on-one research consultations!
Consultations are driven by YOUR needs, the needs of the researcher. I can help you:
- Find the best sources and resources related to your topic, whether they are books, journal articles, databases, or more.
- Master the Library’s search tools so you can find what you’re looking for effectively and efficiently.
- Discover sources you may have missed in your research so far to make sure you leave no stone unturned.
To schedule your consult, use the online scheduler!
