This is the "Best Starting Places" page of the "How to Find Book Reviews" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content
This guide provides an overview of print and electronic resources which index reviews of books.
Last Updated: Jun 11, 2014 URL: http://researchguides.library.vanderbilt.edu/bookreviews Print Guide RSS UpdatesEmail Alerts

Best Starting Places Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

About this guide

This guide provides an overview of print and electronic resources which index reviews of books.

General Sources include multidisciplinary and general interest sources.

Books Published Before 1990 include print and online sources for locating older reviews.

Academic Book Reviews link to the best sources for reviews in each discipline.

 

Quick Links

      

(EndNote, RefWorks, etc.)

Getting Started

Looking for a review of a fictional work? Nonfiction? Academic work? Start with these resources.

Remember: Most book reviews are published close to the time of publication. Not sure when a title was originally published? Try searching WorldCat.

  • Book Review Index Online Plus (1956-current)
    A comprehensive online guide to book reviews that includes more than five million review citations from thousands of publications, with linking to more than 630,000 full-text reviews.
  • ProQuest
    This database provides access to BOOKLIST and PUBLISHERS' WEEKLY as well as national newspapers such as THE NEW YORK TIMES and WALL STREET JOURNAL
    How to use: Under Advanced Search> Document type, select "Review." If you only want reviews in particular periodicals, use PUBLICATION TITLE to limit your results.
  • Choice Reviews Online
    This database is for reviews of academic books, electronic media, and Internet resources of interest to those in higher education.
 

Directory of Book Reviews on the Web

For a useful list of links to book review sites, see this webpage below.  Click the screen shot to access.

Book Reviews screen shot

Subject Guide

Profile Image
Deborah Lilton
Contact Info
Central Library Rm. 800FH
(615) 343-4237
Send Email
 
Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip