African-American and Diaspora Studies
- International Index to Black Periodicals This link opens in a new windowSelect "Review" under Document Type.
Anthropology
- AnthroSource This link opens in a new windowArchive of all journals, newsletters, and bulletins of the American Anthropological Association.
Art
- Art Full Text and Art Index Retrospective This link opens in a new window
Comprehensive resource for art literature: articles, indexing and abstracting of journals, and art dissertations; covering fine, decorative, and commercial art, folk art, photography, film, and architecture. Includes indexing of publications, and citations of book reviews. Indexing of art reproductions provides examples of styles and art movements, including works by emerging artists.
Asian Studies
Biology
- Springer Link This link opens in a new window
Journal articles, book chapters, reference works, and protocols.
Business
Chemistry
- American Chemical Society Publications This link opens in a new windowAmerican Chemical Society's peer-reviewed research journals in chemical and related sciences.
- Choice Reviews Online This link opens in a new window
***Individual user accounts will not be ported to the new site. Users will need to create new individual accounts on choicereviews.org. For instructions on how to do so, please see the Choice Reviews Quick-start Guide.***
Reviews of academic books, electronic media, and Internet resources of interest to those in higher education.
- Royal Society of Chemistry JournalsDo a search for book reviews in the search field.
Cinema & Media Studies
- FIAF International Index to Film Periodicals This link opens in a new windowIndexes academic and popular film journals. In the Advanced Search limit Document Type to "Review" for best results.
Classics
- Année Philologique This link opens in a new windowTo find reviews: Search for the title of the book. In the detail record for the book there will be a list of references to book reviews at the end of the entry.
- Bryn Mawr Classical Review (BMCR)Publishes timely reviews of current scholarly work in the field of classical studies (including archaeology). An archive of BMCR's publications is available from 1990 to the present.
- Classical ReviewThe Classical Review publishes informative reviews from leading scholars on new work covering the literatures and civilizations of ancient Greece and Rome.
Communication Studies
- Communication & Mass Media Complete (CMMC) This link opens in a new windowContent of CommSearch and Mass Media Articles Index and other journals in communication, mass media, and other closely-related fields of study.
Computer Science
- ACM Digital Library This link opens in a new windowAssociation for Computing Machinery's access to journals, magazines, transactions, ACM proceedings, SIG proceedings, newsletters, and publications by affiliated organizations.
Earth and Environmental Science
- EarthFormerly known as Geotimes.
Economics
- EconLit with Full Text This link opens in a new window
Comprehensive, indexed bibliography with selected abstracts of the world's economic literature, produced by the American Economic Association. Includes working papers which have been licensed from the Cambridge University Press.
Education
Engineering
- IEEE Xplore This link opens in a new windowTo browse book reviews, click the “Advanced Search” link, then type “book reviews” (quote marks optional) and change the value in the dropdown box to “IEEE Terms.”
To search for a review of a specific title, follow the first steps above, then in the second search box enter the book title in quotes, keeping “Metadata Only” in the dropdown box.
English & Theatre
- Annual Bibliography of English Language and Literature, 1920- (ABELL) This link opens in a new windowSelect "Review" under Limit To.
- MLA International Bibliography This link opens in a new windowSubject indexing of journals, books, proceedings, and dissertations in the areas of literature, language and linguistics, folklore, film, literary theory & criticism, dramatic arts, and the historical aspects of printing and publishing.
History
A brief selection of resources is below. A larger selection is on the book reviews tab of the History Resources research guide.
Jewish Studies
- Book Reviews for Jewish StudiesThe book reviews portion of Jewish Studies Resources, the Jewish Studies research guide.
Mathematics
- MathSciNet: Mathematical Reviews (EBSCOhost) This link opens in a new windowPure and applied mathematics and statistics, and applications to other fields, such as physics, computer science, and engineering. Most entries contain an author's abstract or critical review.
- MathSciNet: Mathematical Reviews (American Mathematical Society) This link opens in a new windowPure and applied mathematics and statistics, and applications to other fields, such as physics, computer science, and engineering. Most entries contain an author's abstract or critical review.
Music
- Music Periodicals Database This link opens in a new windowA database of articles published in music and related periodicals containing over 160,000 citations to more than 350 journals.
Under Advanced Search, limit "Document Type" to "Review" for best results.
Philosophy
- Notre Dame Philosophical Reviews (NDPR)Devoted to publishing substantive, high-quality book reviews of scholarly philosophy books. An archive of reviews is available from 2002 to the present.
- Philosopher's Index This link opens in a new windowClick Advanced Search, then select "Book Review" under Publication Type.
Physics
- ScienceDirect This link opens in a new windowScientific, business, technical and medical journals and books, including pre-pub and open access content. The back file of the Business collection is an invaluable archival source for business research.
In Advanced Search, limit Article Types to Book Reviews.
Political Science
- Worldwide Political Science Abstracts (WPSA) This link opens in a new windowIn Advanced Search, choose "Book Review" from Document type.
Psychology
Religion
- ATLA (American Theological Library Association) Religion Database with ATLA Serials (Alumni Access) This link opens in a new windowSelect "Review" under Publication Type
- Religion and Philosophy Collection This link opens in a new windowSelect "Book Review" under Document Type
- Reviews in Religion and TheologyJournal dedicated to the review of theological scholarship
Sociology
- Sociological Abstracts This link opens in a new windowIn Advanced Search, choose "Book Review" from Document type.
