It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
A current, objective, and authoritative treatise and guide, with its special emphasis on federal agencies, Administrative Law analyzes all aspects of administrative law and the administrative process, including: * Disclosure of government information * Rules and rulemaking * Investigations; physical inspections; agency subpoena power; right to counsel * Adjudications * Hearings * Licenses * Separation and delegation of powers * Federal employees rights, duties, obligations * Judicial review * Federal grants and federal grant dispute resolution * Standing
This comprehensive treatise covers these topics: the concept of agency rulemaking, procedures for making rules, elements of trial-type adjudication (pre-hearing and hearing), due process rights and informal adjudication, judicial action, standards of review and reviewability, limitations on judicial review, and public information about administrative decisionmaking. Freedom of Information is extensively examined.
Cited by the courts more than 4,000 times, this definitive three volume work now in its Fifth Edition brings you analysis of the latest developments with all the practical guidance and knowledge you need to plan and present an effective case before the courts.
This treatise sets forth a comprehensive analysis of administrative law in the United States. Administrative law continues to evolve in interesting ways in all of its various dimensions. The authors address the new developments in the law of standing, congressional attempts to make agencies more accountable, and the continuing evolution of Chevron deference, among other issues. The fundamental purposes of this book are to assess and explain fundamental doctrines of administrative law, placing some of the most important aspects of those doctrines in a historical context, and setting forth the current state of the law. The book is intended to serve practitioners, scholars and students of administrative law.
This Nutshell addresses all the major topics of legislation and regulation, including the central question of how courts and agencies should interpret ambiguous statutes. Part I describes the functioning of modern-day legislatures and administrative agencies, including not only their essential mechanics but also theories of democratic representation. Part II then builds on this foundation to develop the principal theories and doctrines of statutory and regulatory interpretation. It includes detailed discussions of the various "intrinsic" and "extrinsic" interpretive tools, as well as the competing interpretive approaches of Textualism and Purposivism. It also includes a chapter devoted to the Chevron doctrine and the question of how courts should review agency interpretations of statutes.
Designed to help the reader grasp the fundamental concepts of administrative law. Understanding Administrative Law concentrates on the process of administrative decisionmaking but also deals with the substantive law of agencies when appropriate. As students progress through the course and later enter practice, they will find that substance and procedure become more and more intertwined and, in many instances, become almost inextricable. An awareness that there is no bright line between substance and procedure, particularly in the context of an administrative agency, is especially helpful to a thorough understanding of the subject. A good deal of the material in this book consists of recommendations and processes to identify administrative problems and mechanisms for organizing a reader's thinking when the problem is identified. Understanding Administrative Law highlights the manner in which a client's problem moves through the typical agency and the manner in which a lawyer copes with the various problems and issues encountered in representing clients before administrative agencies. In addition, this book contains a significant amount of material on trends in administrative law such as deregulation and regulatory reform. The Fifth Edition includes comprehensive references to recent cases and law review articles for readers who wish additional depth in any of the topics covered.
A favorite among successful students, and often recommended by professors, the unique Examples & Explanations series gives you extremely clear introductions to concepts followed by realistic examples that mirror those presented in the classroom throughout the semester. Use at the beginning and midway through the semester to deepen your understanding through clear explanations, corresponding hypothetical fact patterns, and analysis. Then use to study for finals by reviewing the hypotheticals as well as the structure and reasoning behind the accompanying analysis. Designed to complement your casebook, the trusted Examples & Explanations titles get right to the point in a conversational, often humorous style that helps you learn the material each step of the way and prepare for the exam at the end of the course. The unique, time-tested Examples & Explanations series is invaluable to teach yourself the subject from the first day of class until your last review before the final. Each guide: helps you learn new material by working through chapters that explain each topic in simple language challenges your understanding with hypotheticals similar to those presented in class provides valuable opportunity to study for the final by reviewing the hypotheticals as well as the structure and reasoning behind the corresponding analysis quickly gets to the point in conversational style laced with humor remains a favorite among law school students is often recommended by professors who encourage the use of study guides works with ALL the major casebooks, suits any class on a given topic provides an alternative perspective to help you understand your casebook and in-class lectures
VU Libraries ResearchGuides is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-ShareAlike 4.0 International License. You may republish or adapt this guide for educational purposes, as long as proper credit is given. Our recommended credit includes the statement: Written by, or adapted from, Vanderbilt University Libraries (current as of .....). If you remix, transform, or build upon the material, you must distribute your contributions under the same license as the original.