It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Federal, state, and international statistical, economic, demographic, and geographic information. National income and production statistics, retail and wholesale trade data, interest rates, economic indicators, and social and demographic statistics, plus data on energy, environmental protection, agriculture, fisheries, crime, etc.
Coverage: From the U.S. government, 1973 to present; from international intergovernmental, 1983 to present.
Comprehensive information about federal staffing, spending, and the enforcement activities of the federal government. Federal enforcement activities: staffing, funds, and the diverse characteristics of counties, federal districts, and states.
Access Note: Access restricted to members of the Vanderbilt Law School community. Vendor Tutorials: Online tutorials - http://tracfed.syr.edu/trachelp/help_showme.shtml
News items in major world newspapers and media outlets can often be located on their webpages, or with a well employed Google News search. However, there are a few very useful resources when doing comprehensive news searching:
Direct link to the newspaper section of ProQuest. Includes Alt-Press Watch, Ethnic NewsWatch, GenderWatch, Latin American Newsstand, Canadian Newsstand Complete, ProQuest Newsstand, ProQuest Historical Newspapers. Chicago Tribune, Christian Science Monitor, Los Angeles Times, New York Times, Wall Street Journal, Washington Post, Times of London, and The Tennessean.
All current Vanderbilt University students, faculty, and staff have access, both on and off campus.
The greatly expanded 11th edition of Black's, with new material throughout, is the most practical, comprehensive, scholarly, and authoritative law dictionary ever published. With clarity and rigor, it defines more than 55,000 law-related words and phrases, recording their historical and present-day nuances.
Fundamentals of all major areas of law: criminal, tax and social security, human rights, family and employment, education, sports, international and EU; the role and workings of legal institutions such as parliaments, courts, law schools, and international bodies such as the EU and the UN; leading cases, famous trials and distinguished lawyers; and major events in legal history and major debates in legal theory.
Reference sources published by Oxford University Press. Dictionaries, subject reference works, language reference sources and key titles in the Oxford Companion series. Some examples are: the Oxford-Duden German dictionaries, A Dictionary of Psychology, A Dictionary of Zoology, The Oxford Dictionary of Idioms, A Dictionary of Writers and Their Works, Oxford Companion to Western Art, Oxford Companion to U.S.History, Oxford Companion to Music, Oxford Companion to Philosophy, and The Encyclopedia of Popular Music, etc.
User Limit: 5.
Company and Industry Information
A couple of the more user-friendly for a non-business user are Hoover's, and Bloomberg Law. Both of these offer basic company information, including incorporation details, leadership details and contacts, and financial disclosures. You may find Bloomberg Law a more familiar interface to work with as a first step, and then turn to Hoover's for even more information.
Multinational companies conduct business in multiple world-wide locations and may, or may not have headquarters in the United States. International companies' headquarters are located outside of the United States.
VU Libraries ResearchGuides is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-ShareAlike 4.0 International License. You may republish or adapt this guide for educational purposes, as long as proper credit is given. Our recommended credit includes the statement: Written by, or adapted from, Vanderbilt University Libraries (current as of .....). If you remix, transform, or build upon the material, you must distribute your contributions under the same license as the original.