Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Researching a Law School Seminar Paper or Law Review Note: Finding Nonlegal Scholarship

Databases and resources for law students researching a seminar paper or law review note.

Getting Started

Non-legal scholarship can come in a variety of formats:

1. Articles. These come in a variety of lengths and formats. Many people also note whether the publication is peer-reviewed.  

2. Books. Frequently authored by academics, these provide in-depth analyses of particular issues. 

3. Current awareness/analysis. These may take the form of newsletters or other trade publications. 

4. Unpublished scholarship/working papers.

Below are some links to help you find these different resources. Always consider which formats may be most popular for your topic.  

Academic Databases

The databases below are frequently used by students looking for scholarship. A more extensive list of databases can be found here: Vanderbilt Library A-Z Database List. 

Bibliographies and Handbooks

Beginning with a bibliography or a handbook can be a great place to begin your research. These resources better allow you to see what has been done in the field and where there might be gaps. 

Searching for Books

To locate books/monographs, just search the library catalog! Or, if you are looking beyond the library, check out one of the other resources listed. 

Theses, Dissertations and Working Papers

Works that have not yet been published, such as working papers or papers presented at conferences, as well as those presented in completion of a Masters or PhD degree, can still be useful (and, if you are writing a law review note, note that they can still be preemptive).