Aging and HearingSince the first edition of the Aging Auditory System volume (in 2009), there has been a tremendous amount of research in basic, translational, and clinical sciences related to age-related changes in auditory system structure and function. The new research has been driven by technical and conceptual advances in auditory neuroscience at multiple levels ranging from cells to cognition. The chapters in Aging and Hearing: Causes and Consequences span a broad range of topics and appeal to a relatively wide audience. Our goal in this volume is to put together state-of-the-art discussions about new developments in aging research that will appeal to a broad audience, serving as an important update on the current state of research on the aging auditory system. This update includes not only the recent research, but also consideration of how human and animal studies or translational and basic research are working in tandem to advance the field. This new edition is a natural complement to the previous SHAR volume on the aging auditory system edited by Gordon-Salant, Frisina, Popper, and Fay. The target audience for this volume will be graduate students, researchers, and academic faculty from a range of disciplines (psychology, hearing science/audiology, physiology, neuroscience, engineering). It also will appeal to clinical audiologists as well as to researchers working in the hearing device industry. Individuals who attend conferences sponsored by the Association for Research in Otolaryngology, Acoustical Society of America, Auditory Cognitive Neuroscience Society, American Auditory Society, Society for Neuroscience, American Speech, Language and Hearing Association, and the American Academy of Audiology (among others) are likely to find value in the volume.
Publication Date: 2020-10-21
Challenges in RhinologyThis book examines in detail many rhinologic issues that are not covered in other books, are still not completely understood, and can be difficult to deal with clinically In each chapter, three authors - a young otorhinolaryngologist, a senior author, and an international expert - elaborate on a specific issue, such as the role of immunotherapy in treating nasal polyps, the management of rhinitis during pregnancy, how rhinitis can differ in adults and children, how to choose between open or endonasal rhinoplasty, the ideal form of anesthesia for nasal surgery, etc The volume will appeal to a wide readership, from otorhinolaryngologists to allergists and facial plastic surgeons, as well as trainees and students in related fields
Publication Date: 2020-10-09
Color Atlas of Head and Neck SurgeryThis surgical atlas, now in its second edition, provides superbly illustrated step-by-step descriptions of a wide range of open head and neck procedures, including radical and conservative approaches, aesthetic and reconstructive surgeries with the use of axial and free flaps, and surgery within the narrow confines of the skull base. Individual chapters are dedicated to surgery of the nose and paranasal sinuses, larynx and trachea, thyroid, salivary glands, mandible, face and lips, and head and neck, the repair of external nose defects, the use of axial and free flaps, and surgical treatment of temporal bone malignancies. The new edition, written by experts from across the world, covers a number of additional topics, such as pediatric head and neck surgery, laser surgery, and robotic surgery. It also features improved surgical photographs, enhanced descriptions of essential procedures, identification of pitfalls, many practical tips and best references available for each procedure to assist readers. The atlas will be a comprehensive practical reference for clinicians in all specialties involved in head and neck surgery, including otolaryngologists, head and neck surgeons, plastic surgeons, maxillofacial surgeons, and surgical oncologists.
Publication Date: 2020-02-22
Complications in Cranio-Maxillofacial and Oral SurgeryThis superbly illustrated book equips readers with a detailed, up-to-date understanding of the surgical and nonsurgical complications that may arise during cranio-maxillofacial and oral surgery for a range of conditions, including malformations, infections, trauma, and tumors. It will aid both in the prevention of complications and in their effective management, across all age groups. Among the diverse surgical settings considered are cleft lip and palate, odontogenic and non-odontogenic infections, temporomandibular joint disorders, cranio-maxillofacial trauma, oral cancer, and skull base tumors. Potential complications during and after reconstructive procedures, including donor site morbidity, are considered. The book is designed to heighten awareness and to fill gaps in knowledge by providing novel insights. It will be of value for all clinicians, residents, and medical and dental students who are interested in oral, maxillofacial, craniofacial, plastic, reconstructive, and head and neck surgery.
Publication Date: 2020-08-01
Cummings Pediatric OtolaryngologyIndispensable for all otolaryngologists who see children in their practice, as well as fellows and others in training, Cummings Pediatric Otolaryngology offers comprehensive, state-of-the-art coverage for evaluation and treatment of children with otolaryngologic disorders. The 2nd Edition features revised and updated content and numerous new chapters throughout, making it your #1 resource for the latest information, techniques, and treatments on improving otolaryngologic outcomes for children. Offers expanded discussion of common comorbidities occurring in children as well as challenging clinical problems in both healthy and medically complex children. Includes extensive new content on otology, as well as new chapters on pediatric speech disorders, 22q11.2 deletion syndrome, pediatric cochlear implantation, laryngotracheal clefts, pediatric tracheotomy and decannulation, and more. Covers hot topics such as evaluation and management of pediatric vestibular disorders and ankyloglossia and tight maxillary frenula. Provides detailed, authoritative coverage of every area of head and neck surgery, authored by leading experts in the field and carefully edited by a senior pediatric otolaryngologist, Dr. Marci M. Lesperance. Includes an all-new electronic appendix with supplemental pediatric content from Cummings Otolaryngology Head and Neck Surgery, 7th edition and additional references. Features superb, full-color illustrations throughout. Enhanced eBook version included with purchase. Your enhanced eBook allows you to access all of the text, figures, and references from the book on a variety of devices.
Publication Date: 2021-11-04
Diagnosis in OtorhinolaryngologyThis revised and expanded second edition provides a comprehensive and up-to-date pictorial overview of the majority of ENT conditions. When making a diagnosis, it is of paramount importance that the ear, nose and throat (ENT) specialist views the lesion and recognizes its pathology. Recent advances in endoscopic technology have enabled us to obtain clear images of such lesions and have changed our approach to diseases and techniques in the fields of ENT and head and neck surgery. Featuring schematic drawings to make difficult topics more understandable, the book supports beginners in their search for the correct diagnosis, and increases their understanding of basic surgical approaches. It provides fundamental information required for diagnosis and treatment in an easily accessible form, while the tables, photographs and schematic drawings allow readers to grasp the problems quickly. It is also a useful guide for all experts involved in teaching diagnostic and surgical skills. Diagnosis in Otorhinolaryngology 2nd Edition is intended for general practitioners, medical students and ENT trainees, fellows, academicians and teachers.
Publication Date: 2021-03-30
Evidence-Based LaryngologyThis text provides a critical look at the state of the evidence in the most compelling areas of laryngology. Rather than being a comprehensive text covering every single possible area, it focuses on published works in the 9 areas that are of the most interest to laryngologists as well as speech pathologists, general otolaryngologists, and head and neck oncologists managing laryngologic issues. The state of the literature is succinctly summarized and tabulated in each area, allowing the reader to see which areas have high-grade evidence (Levels 1 or 2) to support decision making, and which areas are in need of better quality studies. Each chapter is divided into three main sections: Diagnosis and Pathophysiology, Surgical management, and Non-surgical management. This makes it easier for the reader to browse to the area of interest in each section and to find the evidence basis for a given concept. Evidence-Based Laryngology will be an invaluable resource to otolaryngologists, residents, speech-language pathologists, and other clinicians who manage laryngological problems and would like to know the evidence basis behind different treatment options.
Publication Date: 2021-02-20
Exoscope-Assisted Surgery in OtorhinolaryngologyOffering a practical, clinically focused approach to the use of the three-dimensional exoscope in the field of otolaryngology-head and neck surgery, Exoscope Assisted Surgery in Otorhinolaryngology is an up-to-date, expert guide to the optimal use of this new technology. Written by surgeons with extensive experience in this fast-changing area, this title is an excellent resource for otolaryngologists and oral and maxillofacial surgeons who need a better understanding of the advantages of exoscope technology and its use in various surgical procedures. Synthesizes current evidence-based literature and personal experience regarding the use of exoscopes in otolaryngology-head and neck surgery. Offers a practical approach focused on clinical decision making. Explains exoscopic technology and offers helpful comparisons between the exoscope and microscope in various surgeries. Covers microlaryngeal surgery, laser-assisted endoscopic laryngeal surgery, ear surgery, lateral skull base surgery, exoscope assisted dacryocystorhinostomy, free flap harvesting, and much more. Consolidates today's available information on this timely topic into a single, convenient resource.
Publication Date: 2021-07-22
Granulomatous Diseases in Otorhinolaryngology, Head and NeckThis book provides the description of the granulomatous diseases of otorhinolaryngology, head and neck with their characteristic features, investigations and management. It includes wide variety of infective, idiopathic, neoplastic, hereditary, reactive and various other types of chronic granulomatous reaction in the ear, nose, throat and head neck region. Further, the description is supported with various illustrations including clinical photographs, radiological pictures of CT scan, MRI scan etc. Histopathological and microbiological images which show characteristics and differentiating features are also included to aid in the diagnosis of the diseases. Histopathological colored images with high magnification and immunohistochemistry images are provided for better illustrations. This book also elaborates the important medical and surgical management of the granulomatous diseases. Every chapter ends with the 'Essential features' of that particular granulomatous disease, and this will certainly help the post-grad students and clinicians to differentiate the diseases, early diagnosis and management of the patients with chronic granulomatous diseases.
Publication Date: 2021-09-10
Management of Snoring and Obstructive Sleep ApneaThere are many books describing in detail the evaluation,diagnosis and management of OSA, but this is a first practical guide which comprehensively describes this condition. The incidence of snoring and obstructive sleep apnea is on rise and this practical guide will help not just specialists but also residents and fellows in treating their patients with Obstructive sleep apnea. Essential information is summarized in the form of charts and surgical steps are summarized in the form of diagrammatic illustration making it easy for the learners. This book additionally would help the medical practitioners to get a practical insight in the management of patients .This book will describe each entity of sleep disordered breathing, evidence based protocols , diagnostic tools required for identifying , medical therapies that will help in appropriate patients, Devices that can be used for its management . This book will also describe on how to select patients for surgery and how tailor the surgery as per the anatomy of the patient.
Publication Date: 2022-01-05
Opioid Use, Overuse, and Abuse in OtolaryngologyPrescription opioid abuse has become a major issue around the world, especially within the United States and Canada. Surgeons' high rate of opioid prescriptions places them in a critical position of working with patients to manage their pain. Opioid Use, Overuse, and Abuse in Otolaryngology, edited by Dr. Ryan J. Li of Oregon Health and Sciences University, takes a comprehensive, practical look at the national opioid epidemic and provides specific otolaryngology-specific data on chronic opioid usage. Discusses perioperative pain management in otolaryngology from an anesthesiology perspective, perioperative pain management in pediatric otolaryngology, rhinology and anterior skull base surgery, facial plastic and reconstructive surgery, neurotology, head and neck cancers, and more. Offers nonopioid analgesic options for otolaryngology-head and neck surgery patients and discusses a structured approach to perioperative pain management. Presents the knowledge and expertise of leading experts who have assembled the most up-to-date recommendations for opioid use, overuse, and abuse, including international pain management approaches. Covers the history of perioperative pain management in otolaryngology-head and neck surgery.
Publication Date: 2021-11-16
Practical Otorhinolaryngology, Head and Neck SurgeryThis book aims to provide clinical advice on diagnosis and treatment of main and rare diseases of ear, nose, throat, head and neck to clinical practitioners. The highlight of this book is that important surgeries, for example, transoral robotic surgery for tongue base tumours, cochlear implant, are displayed in high-resolution videos. The first chapter gives a general introduction of otolaryngology, head and neck foundation which helps clinical practitioners generate the basic ideas of equipment, drugs and treatment used. The following chapters introduce anatomy, physiology, diagnosis and therapeutic approach for common diseases of otolaryngology, head and neck, with brief case studies. For each disease, a brief introduction, clinical symptoms, imaging diagnosis, treatment plan as well as complications management are offered to the readers. With the illustrative figures and videos, this book is a useful reference to otolaryngologists, head and neck surgeons, professional clinical staff, and medical students.
Publication Date: 2021-09-03
Textbook of Clinical OtolaryngologyThis textbook provides a comprehensive overview of the state of the art in otolaryngology, discussing all the newly advances in the subspecialties of head and neck, plastics, otology, laryngology, rhinology and pediatrics, and also addressing topics like allergy, sleep medicine, trauma, and the fundamentals of systemic diseases that frequently manifest in the head and neck region. The book is divided into 9 sections, presenting the recent literature concerning all the subspecialties in otolaryngology and providing the information necessary for readers to gain an understanding of the field of otolaryngology. Each chapter includes definitions, key points and take-home messages, to aid learning. Throughout the book, tips and key features are highlighted with boxes, tables and figures, which the reader can refer back to for quick revision. Above all, the book enables medical students, residents and junior specialists in the field of ENT to develop their learning and surgical skills.
Publication Date: 2020-12-21
Thyroid DiseaseThis volume presents and analyses the ongoing arguments, controversies, challenges and debates on thyroid disease with a view to clarifying some uncertainties, and to making suggestions that will help resolve others. Issues such as thyroid disease during pregnancy, Hashimoto's disease, Hurthle cell lesions, solitary thyroid nodules, retrosternal goiter, thyroid cancer, recurrent thyroid disease, thyroidectomy techniques, post-thyroidectomy hypocalcemia, and thyroid auto-transplantation are thoroughly explored. Richly illustrated, the book offers an invaluable tool for all specialists and trainees entrusted with the care of patients suffering from thyroid disease.
VU Libraries ResearchGuides is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-ShareAlike 4.0 International License. You may republish or adapt this guide for educational purposes, as long as proper credit is given. Our recommended credit includes the statement: Written by, or adapted from, Vanderbilt University Libraries (current as of .....). If you remix, transform, or build upon the material, you must distribute your contributions under the same license as the original.