It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Databases and websites on the business and management of health care. Consumer data, market research reports, government data. Websites with health care business research. How to search for gray literature.
Larger companies are usually easier to research than
smaller privately held companies. For many small and private companies
you may be limited to information the company releases and/or any media
coverage. With some private companies, the only information you can find is
about the owners. In those cases, here are two strategies:
Identify the owners by name and then research them in
news sources and on the Internet.
Understand the industry and then
evaluate their products/services against the industry.
To find registered business owners, go to the Secretary of
State website corporate listings for the relevant state. On the Walker
Library page, there are also Research Guides for Public and Private Companies.
General Business Sources (includes company and industry news & information)
Provides access to detailed corporate financial histories (including capital changes) and operational histories for international public companies. All current Vanderbilt University students, faculty, and staff have access, but users must come into the Walker Management Library to use this resource. Only the Owen community has off-campus access. Limited to 3 simultaneous users.
In addition to covering the major scholarly business journals, BSP also covers company reports, SWOT analyses, working papers, country reports, industry reports and other searchable categories like case studies, book reviews, product reviews, speeches, and interviews. All current Vanderbilt University students, faculty, and staff have access, both on and off campus.
The Walker Management Library has access to dozens of Owen Graduate School of Management and Vanderbilt University licensed databases. These resources provide access to business news and journals, as well as highly specialized content on an extensive range of business topics and research disciplines. Access and use restrictions apply to some resources, and use of these resources imply acceptance of our Copyright and Licensing Restrictions. Databases can be found in the following way:
VU Libraries ResearchGuides is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-ShareAlike 4.0 International License. You may republish or adapt this guide for educational purposes, as long as proper credit is given. Our recommended credit includes the statement: Written by, or adapted from, Vanderbilt University Libraries (current as of .....). If you remix, transform, or build upon the material, you must distribute your contributions under the same license as the original.