Research Guides: Geographic Information Systems (GIS): Historical Maps

Historical Maps

The largest collection of maps in the U.S., and the largest collection of digital maps too. Collection is very broad geographically.

Very large collection, strengths in New England. Large collection of maps related to the American Revolution.

Search "maps" in the Subject facet. A collaboration of the University of Utah, Brigham Young University, the University of Nevada, and other western libraries. Strengths in Utah, Nevada, and westward migrations.

David Rumsey is a private map collector who has since donated his collection to Stanford University. He collected widely from around the world.

Provides access to over 660,000 full-image fire insurance maps for more than 12,000 American communities in all U.S. states. These large-scale maps contain detailed data such as the outline of each building; the size, shape, and function of structures; construction materials; heights; and the location of windows and doors. The maps also list street names, street and sidewalk widths, property boundaries, building use, and house and block numbers. Also shown are pipelines, railroads, wells, dumps, and heavy machinery. Sanborn maps are valuable historical tools for urban studies specialists, historians, architects, geographers, genealogists, planners, and environmentalists, among others.

Large database of United States historic aerial maps. Search for any parcel of U.S. land and toggle through available years going back to 1955. Offers atlas, topographical, and aerial views. Free version as well as premium versions.

Contains interactive maps on various topics incorporating data from the 19th - 21st centuries. Includes maps about urban renewal, redlining, forced migration of enslaved people, overland trails, foreign-born population, and more.

Digitized maps from Baylor University concerning the Civil War. The maps come from the Atlas to Accompany the Official Records of the Union and Confederate Armies, published in 1895. Searchable by keywords, including military personnel, city, state, and geographic features.

The National Historical Geographic Information System (NHGIS) provides easy access to summary tables and time series of population, housing, agriculture, and economic data, along with GIS-compatible boundary files, for years from 1790 through the present and for all levels of U.S. census geography, including states, counties, tracts, and blocks.