Data / Statistics - ECON 2150 - Economic History of the United States

VU Government Document Collection

Government Information Collections.
This page provides links to U.S. government information by level of government and by subject. *Vanderbilt is a selective depository for federal government publications since 1884, United Nations publications since 1946, and Food and Agriculture publications since 1948.*

Explore Census Data | U.S. Census Bureau.
•The Decennial Census - a survey of population and housing
•The Economic Census - a survey of almost all business activity in industries and communities at the national, state, county, and metropolitan levels conducted every 5 years ending in 2 and 7
•The American Community Survey - an annual survey of three million households
Evolution of the American Census
Digital scholarship project tracing evolution of US census questions and data.

Historical Statistics of the United States: Millennial Edition (HSUS) This link opens in a new window
Provides historical statistics on the social, political, and economic aspects of the United States, including population, work and welfare, economic structure and performance, economic sectors, and governance and international relations. Includes census data. Users can create custom tables and merge columns from multiple tables to create custom tables, which can also be downloaded, printed, or graphed.
If you experience an error message, please clear your browser's cache and retry connecting.
Social Explorer This link opens in a new window
Current and historical U.S. census data and demographic information from 1790 to present. Topics vary from census to census. Includes access to: The Decennial Census - a survey of population and housing; The American Community Survey - an annual survey of three million households.
User Limit: 3.

Integrated Public Use Microdata Series (IPUMS)
IPUMS provides census and survey data from around the world integrated across time and space. IPUMS integration and documentation makes it easy to study change, conduct comparative research, merge information across data types, and analyze individuals within family and community context. Data and services are available free of charge.

Statistical Abstract of the United States (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
Provides statistics on the social, political, and economic organization of the U.S.
*This database covers mostly 1970 to present and supersedes the U.S. government version, issued annually from 1878 to 2012 and available at:
http://www.census.gov/library/publications/time-series/statistical_abstracts.html*
Access Note: If prompted to select an account, select Vanderbilt University.

Statistical Insight (ProQuest).
• US Federal statistical publications (also known as American Statistics Index or ASI) - coverage from 1973; full text from 2004.
• State government and business statistical reports (also known as Statistical Reference Index or SRI) - coverage from 1980, full-text from 2007.
• International statistical publications (also known as Index to International Statistics or IIS) - includes UN, OECD, and EU; coverage from 1980; full text from 2007.
Bureau of Labor Statistics | U.S. Dept. of Labor.
Provides data on Inflation & prices, Pay & benefits, Spending & time use, Unemployment & employment, Workplace injuries, Productivity, Employment projections, and more. Data are available at national, regional, and state levels, and for many metropolitan services areas.