AcneThis book brings together world-famous acne researchers and specialists to compile a source of comprehensive, state-of-the-art information for management of acne. It examines acne as a chronic skin disease from pathogenesis to treatment. The book covers the clinical aspects of acne, topical treatments, light therapies, environmental factors and more alongside real patient photos from around the world. Treatments that chapters explore include photodynamic therapy and topical retinoids. In addition to genetic and hormonal causes of acne, chapters also include discussions on the connections between acne and diet, and acne and environmental factors. International contributors make this text unique in that it can focus solely on acne but also include international factors. Throughout the text, authors present the most up-to-date knowledge of acne pathophysiology, clinical features, differential diagnosis, treatment, and more. Pathophysiology, in particular, includes information on bacteria, immunity, endocrinologic factors, various deteriorating factors and environmental factors. As for clinical features, adult acne, differences in clinical patterns by region and race, and acne fulminans are covered. Regarding treatment, the latest knowledge on existing treatments or treatment methods, new drugs, and core outcome measures are mentioned. Acne: Current Concepts and Management is written for the dermatologist community from resident to researcher to privately practicing clinician.
Publication Date: 2021-08-21
Advances in PsoriasisThis extensively revised second edition provides an up-to-date and highly informative textbook on psoriasis. The understanding of the mechanisms behind the disease and the available treatment options have continued to develop rapidly in recent times, with this vital resource covering the latest in these management options, including targeted T-cell therapy, the use of immunomodulators, systemic therapies, and ultraviolet and laser therapy. In addition, it provides a detailed overview of the pathophysiology, comorbidities, epidemiology and triggers of the disease. Advances in Psoriasis: A Multisystemic Guide extensively details the scientific basis and practice management of psoriasis. It is therefore a vital resource for practicing and trainee dermatologists looking to develop their clinical knowledge of how to manage and treat these patients.
Publication Date: 2020-11-27
Andrews' Diseases of the Skin: Clinical DermatologyNow in a fully revised thirteenth edition, Andrews' Diseases of the Skin remains your single-volume, must-have resource for core information in dermatology. From residency through clinical practice, this award-winning title ensures that you stay up to date with new tools and strategies for diagnosis and treatment, new entities and newly recognized diseases, and current uses for tried-and-true and newer medications. It's the reference you'll turn to again and again when faced with a clinical conundrum or therapeutically challenging skin disease. Utilizes a concise, clinically focused, user-friendly format that clearly covers the full range of common and rare skin diseases. Provides access to approximately 20 videos online, depicting chemical peels, Q-switched laser tattoo removal, ED&C (electrodesiccation and curettage), nerve block, and more. Provides outstanding visual support with 1,340 illustrations - more than 500 new to this edition. Presents comprehensively updated information throughout, including new and unusual clinical presentations of syphilis, new diagnostic classifications and therapies for vascular anomalies, and an updated pediatric and genodermatosis review. Covers new and evolving treatments for inflammatory, neoplastic, and blistering skin diseases among others.? New biologics and phosphodiesterase inhibitors for psoriasis and atopic dermatitis, JAK inhibitors for alopecia areata and vitiligo, immune checkpoint inhibitors for melanoma and rituximab for pemphigus are all covered. Features a revised and revamped cutaneous adverse drug reaction section, including novel eruptions from new and emerging chemotherapeutic agents and small molecule/targeted inhibitors. Discusses new and emerging viruses including Zika and human polyomaviruses. Enhanced eBook version included with purchase. Your enhanced eBook allows you to access all of the text, figures, and references from the book on a variety of devices.
Publication Date: 2019-04-10
Atlas of DermatologyDermatology is the science responsible for the study of the skin, mucous membranes (oral and genital) and cutaneous appendages, while dermatopathology focuses on its microscopic study. Although the two fields are closely related, in many cases the identification of dermatological diseases is mainly clinical and depends on the physician's ability and experience. The purpose of this atlas, which collects over 900 clinical and histological photographs in high resolution, is to illustrate and describe the most frequent skin diseases on the basis of clinical cases. Offering a complete guide to the etiology, epidemiology, clinical features, histologic findings and diagnosis of the main skin diseases divided into three subgroups (inflammatory, infectious, or tumoral), it represents an invaluable resource for all medical students, residents, clinicians, and investigators learning dermatology.
Publication Date: 2022-01-04
Botulinum Toxin in Clinical PracticeThis book concisely summarizes the use of Botulinum neurotoxin in facial rejuvenation. It details relevant aspects of the physiology, pharmacology, safety profile and anatomy of the toxin. Chapters breakdown critical aspects related to the clinical assessment and aesthetic administration of this neurotoxin along with insightful information on its regulation. Botulinum Toxin in Clinical Practice provides a practically focused introductory text to the cosmetic applications of this neurotoxin in aesthetic dermatology, making it an ideal resource for the trainee practitioner seeking a concise summary of the topic.
Publication Date: 2021-09-08
Daily Routine in Cosmetic Dermatology​The series "Clinical Approaches and Procedures in Cosmetic Dermatology" intends to be a practical guide in Cosmetic Dermatology. Procedures in cosmetic dermatology are very popular and useful in medicine, indicated to complement topical and oral treatments not only for photodamaged skin but also for other dermatosis such as acne, rosacea, scars, etc. Also, full-face treatments using peelings, lasers, fillers and toxins are increasingly being used, successfully substituting or postponing the need for plastic surgeries. Altogether, these techniques not only provide immediate results but also help patients to sustain long-term benefits, both preventing/treating dermatological diseases and maintaining a healthy and youthful skin. Throughout this series, different treatments in Cosmetic Dermatology will be discussed in detail covering the use of many pharmacological groups of cosmeceuticals, the new advances in nutraceuticals and emerging technologies and procedures. This volume, entitled "Daily Routine in Cosmetic Dermatology" will be an important tool for aesthetic doctors, practicing dermatologists, plastic surgeons, and all other physicians interested in the field of aesthetic medicine. It discloses in detail the semiology and general treatments in cosmetic dermatology, providing the state-of-the-art regarding patients' evaluation, photoprotection, nutraceuticals and cosmeceuticals and special prescriptions. Also check the other volumes: Volume II - Chemical and Physical Peelings Volume III - Lasers, Lights and Other Technologies Volume IV - Botulinum Toxins, Fillers and Related Substances
Publication Date: 2020
DermatopathologyThis updated second edition provides a structured and highly illustrated guide to dermatopathology. It focuses on the most common dermatopathological diagnoses and presents their clinical, histological, and differential diagnostic features of the diseases. New chapters cover various inflammatory diseases such as interstitial granulomatous dermatitis and filler reactions as well as cutaneous neoplasms such as digital papillary adenocarcinoma. Dermatopathology aims to help readers to rapidly identify patterns and specific diagnostic features. The book is relevant to both practicing and trainee dermatologists and pathologists.
Publication Date: 2022-01-04
Pediatric DermatologyDesigned for everyday use in the clinic, Bernard A. Cohen's Pediatric Dermatology, 5th Edition, is a visually stunning, practical reference for anyone who treats children with skin disorders. Diagnostic algorithms, high-quality illustrations, and concise, easy-to-navigate text written by a leading authority in the field set this text/atlas apart, making it ideal for clinical use as well as board exam preparation. Contains nearly 1,000 superb photographs (100 are new or updated) balanced by clear and succinct text. Keeps you up to date with the most current knowledge and latest advancements in the field, including new variants of conditions for infantile hemangiomas and vascular malformations and approaches and findings for treating pigmented lesions in infants and children. Features numerous summary tables and differential diagnosis algorithms to help simplify diagnosis. Offers a comprehensive bibliography at the end of each chapter for further study. Includes European drug names when appropriate. Enhanced eBook version included with purchase. Your enhanced eBook allows you to access all of the text, figures, and references from the book on a variety of devices.
Publication Date: 2021-09-28
Practical Manual for Dermatologic and Surgical Melanoma ManagementThis book provides a practically applicable resource for all clinicians managing patients with or who may develop melanoma. Each chapter focuses on clinically relevant information on the latest advances in the field, including techniques for early detection of skin cancers, cross-sectional imaging and staging of regional nodes. Algorithms for clinical decision-making along with clinical vignettes are incorporated into each chapter, enabling the reader to develop a deep understanding of how to manage a range of scenarios. Practical Manual for Dermatologic and Surgical Melanoma Management systematically details the latest diagnostic criteria, treatment guidelines and management techniques available for treating these patients and is a valuable resource for the trainee and practising clinician.
Publication Date: 2020-05-12
Textbook of Aging SkinThis comprehensive book presents the latest information on all aspects of the aging skin, including a broad spectrum of the relevant basic science, malignant and non-malignant age-associated diseases and conditions, techniques and methods, toxicological and safety considerations in the elderly, psychological and social issues, ethnicity and gender differences and marketing to the aged. Since the first edition the book has been extensively updated and revised, with the inclusion of many additional chapters that describe the most recent advances in scientific, medical and technical understanding of the aging phenomenon. There is, for example, extended coverage of physiology, description of novel bioengineering methods and tools, detailed consideration of developments in genomics research, and information on new ingredients and products. Textbook of Aging Skin is written by global experts and thought leaders and is intended to serve as the single and complete reference on the subject. It will be of value for dermatologists, gerontologists, toxicologists, biologists and a range of other professionals.
Publication Date: 2020
Textbook of Primary Care DermatologyThis textbook provides a comprehensive, practical guide to the identification of a range of common dermatological conditions encountered within primary care. It features a problem-based approach to the topics and conditions covered. Clinical photographs, diagrams and pertinent tables along with clear learning objectives, clinical pearls and pitfalls in each chapter facilitate understanding in the diagnosis and management of a range of common dermatological conditions. Textbook of Primary Care Dermatology empowers the reader to develop their understanding of how to deal with a range of common skin, hair and nail problems. It is ideal for training and practising primary care physicians seeking a quick reference guide to use in their clinical practice and the trainee dermatologist seeking a primer on the topic. It is also suitable for other members of the primary care team including nurses, pharmacists, physician associates and clinical assistants, and it is very useful for hospital-based doctors and nurses in other disciplines who want a quick, practical reference to common dermatological problems.
Publication Date: 2021-09-08
Treatment of Skin DiseaseCovering nearly 260 of the most common dermatologic conditions from A to Z, Treatment of Skin Disease, 6th Edition, by Drs. Mark G. Lebwohl, Warren R. Heymann, Ian Coulson, and Dedee Murrell, is your go-to resource for authoritative, evidence-based treatment strategies in your daily practice. This award-winning text provides guidance on the fast-moving dermatological therapy options for virtually any skin disease you're likely to encounter, including third-line and unusual therapies when initial options have not been successful. Summaries of each treatment strategy are accompanied by detailed discussions of treatment choices, with ratings on a consistent scale ranging from clinical studies to anecdotal reports. Puts every possible therapeutic option at your disposal - including management strategies, first- to third-line therapies, and off-label uses - for a truly complete guide to the vast array of dermatologic treatment options. Features 4 all-new chapters on COVID-19 dermatoses, including the associated pediatric multisystem inflammatory syndrome; DRESS syndrome; keratosis lichenoides chronica; and tinea corporis and tinea cruris. Presents information in a consistent, tabular format, with checklists of diagnostic and investigative pearls and color-coded boxes for quick reference. Provides more than 260 full-color clinical images of skin diseases, most of which are new to this edition. Offers the combined knowledge and expertise of the world's leading authorities in dermatology. Enhanced eBook version included with purchase. Your enhanced eBook allows you to access all of the text, figures, and references from the book on a variety of devices.
VU Libraries ResearchGuides is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-ShareAlike 4.0 International License. You may republish or adapt this guide for educational purposes, as long as proper credit is given. Our recommended credit includes the statement: Written by, or adapted from, Vanderbilt University Libraries (current as of .....). If you remix, transform, or build upon the material, you must distribute your contributions under the same license as the original.