Free eBooks available for compatible NOOK devices and the free NOOK Apps
The Healthy Heart Handbook for WomenResearch on women's heart health is exploding. Nearly every week, it seems, the media report on new ways to prevent and treat heart disease in women-and it can be hard to keep track of it all. In this updated edition of "The Healthy Heart Handbook for Women," we have put together all of this new knowledge in one easy-to-use handbook. This guide is part of The Heart Truth, a national public awareness campaign for women about heart disease sponsored by the National Heart, Lung, and Blood Institute (NHLBI) and many other groups. (See "Getting the Word Out" on page 10.)"The Healthy Heart Handbook for Women" will give you new information on women's heart disease and practical suggestions for reducing your own personal risk of heart-related problems. You'll find out about a little-known form of heart disease in women and how to get it diagnosed properly. The handbook will also help you make sense of widely publicized research on the impact of a lower fat diet on women's heart disease risk. There is much good news in these pages, including new findings that people who avoid heart disease risk factors tend to live healthier and longer lives. The handbook will give you the latest information on preventing and controlling those risks. You'll also find new tips on following a nutritious eating plan, tailoring your physical activity program to your particular goals, and getting your whole family involved in heart healthy living. The handbook will also advise you on the warning signs of heart attack, as well as how to act quickly to get help.
VU Libraries ResearchGuides is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-ShareAlike 4.0 International License. You may republish or adapt this guide for educational purposes, as long as proper credit is given. Our recommended credit includes the statement: Written by, or adapted from, Vanderbilt University Libraries (current as of .....). If you remix, transform, or build upon the material, you must distribute your contributions under the same license as the original.