Digitized letters, papers, photographs, scrapbooks, financial records, diaries, and other primary source materials.
• American Indians and the American West
• American Politics and Society
• Civil Rights and the Black Freedom Struggle
• International Relations and Military Conflicts
• Southern Life, Slavery, and the Civil War
• Women's Studies
• Workers and Labor Unions
U.S. Congressional materials (hearings, bills, Congressional Record and compiled legislative histories) and Executive Branch documents.
Important papers generated by the British Government's Foreign and Colonial Offices between 1834-1966, ranging from single-page letters or telegrams to comprehensive dispatches.
Papers of the British Foreign and Colonial Offices, 1833-1969. Documents include dispatches, telegrams, investigative reports and treaties. Revolutions, political movements, railway development, the Panama Canal, the slave trade, immigration, the Vargas dictatorship in Brazil, indigenous relations.
Coverage: 1833-1969.
Papers of the British Foreign and Colonial Offices covering events from the Egyptian reforms of Muhammad Ali Pasha, the Middle East Conference of 1921, the Mandates for Palestine and Mesopotamia, and the Suez Crisis in 1956, to the partition of Palestine, post-Suez Western foreign policy, and the Arab-Israeli conflict.
Coverage: 1839-1969.
Papers of the British Foreign and Colonial Offices covering such topics as slavery, Prohibition, the First and Second World Wars, racial segregation, territorial disputes, the League of Nations, McCarthyism, and the nuclear bomb.
Coverage: 1824-1961.
Formerly restricted British diplomatic dispatches, letters, newspaper cuttings, maps, economic assessments, and synopses on leading Chinese personalities from the constant exchange of information between London and British diplomatic outposts in China. Provides unprecedented levels of detail into one of the most turbulent centuries of Chinese history
Coverage: 1919-1980.
British diplomatic dispatches and files covering the high politics of Independence and Partition, social and cultural interchange after 1947, and the ramifications that these changes continue to have throughout South Asia today.
Coverage: 1947-1980.
Diplomatic correspondence, minutes, reports, political summaries, and personality profiles from the UK National Archives addressing policies, economies, political relationships, and significant events in Middle East countries.
Coverage: 1971-1981.
British government files document Anglo-Japanese diplomatic relations and provide significant insight into the events between First World War victory and Second World War defeat, crucial to understanding the political journey of Japan and its rise to modernity.
Coverage: 1919-1952.
Complete UK Foreign and Commonwealth Office (FCO) 7 and 82 files for the entire period of Richard Nixon's presidency.
Coverage: 1969-1974.
Collection of interviews with Holocaust survivors and witnesses that detail a wide range of experiences, including imprisonment in concentration camps, living in hiding, fighting with partisans or the resistance, rescuing and protecting those targeted by Nazi persecution, and escape to Allied or neutral countries.
First time users must register for an account then search for and request access to an initial testimony. You only need to request access to one testimony to obtain viewing rights for the entire collection. Users must always be logged in to the site to view videos. Detailed instructions for access can be found at http://fortunoff.library.yale.edu/archive/search.
Off-campus access is not working at this time.
Streaming access to documentary and social issue films from a variety of distributors, including Bullfrog, Collective Eye, and Icarus Films.
Digitized collections of some of the nation’s great research libraries, established in this repository to archive and share their digital content.
Access Note: VU is a partner institution. Login is required for downloading. Tutorial: https://researchguides.library.vanderbilt.edu/HathiTrustAccess
Covering almost 200 countries, each report presents detailed statistics alongside expert commentary and forecasting from the EIU’s analysts. This database presents the historical reports up to 1995, with all data from the statistical tables fully captured and downloadable in spreadsheet form. It is a unique archive of analysis and explanation of political, economic and commercial developments, together with historical statistical data.
In-depth reports that include political and economic data and policies. Three separate databases: Country Report, Country Profile, and CountryData.
Current and historical census data and demographic information: US Census, American Community Survey, religious membership, carbon emissions data, etc. Customizable maps, charts, and reports.
Poll questions and responses from national, state, local and special public opinion polls and surveys conducted by polling organizations in the United States and other countries.
Coverage: 1986 to present.
