Research Guides: PPS: Public Policy Studies (A&S): Public Policy Papers

Public Policy Papers

Columbia International Affairs Online (CIAO) This link opens in a new window
Comprehensive source for theory and research in international affairs. Working papers from university research institutes, occasional papers series from NGOs, foundation-funded research projects, conference proceedings, journal abstracts, books, a schedule of events, policy briefs and economic indicators, and maps and country data.
Coverage: 1991 to present.
PAIS International This link opens in a new window
Public Affairs Information Service: journal articles, books, government documents, statistical directories, grey literature, research reports, conference papers, web content, etc. covering issues in the public debate.

Coverage: PAIS International is the current file covering 1972 to present, and PAIS Archive includes the content from printed volumes published 1915-1976.
Global Think Tanks This link opens in a new window
Curated, high quality policy reports, briefs, analyses, working papers, and datasets produced by the world’s leading policy experts, think tanks, research centers, IGOs, and NGOs.
North American City Reports This link opens in a new window
Surveys, budgets, statistical records, case studies, planning documents, training manuals, policy guidelines, reports, and news from the world’s major cities. Provides research with particular importance in areas of climate change, political instability, and rapid growth.

RAND Corporation
Select the "Research" tab to find research briefs and other policy-oriented publications
Annenberg Public Policy Center
The Annenberg Public Policy Center of the University of Pennsylvania has been the premier communication policy center in the country since its founding in 1993. APPC’s work has informed the policy debates around campaign finance, children’s television, Internet privacy, tobacco advertising and the tone of discourse in Washington.
Google Think Tank Search Engine
Think Tank Search searches the websites of institutions that generate public policy research, analysis, and activity. These sites are affiliated with universities, governments, advocacy groups, foundations, and non-governmental organizations. Inclusion is based upon the relevancy of subject area to HKS coursework and scholarship, the availability of the think tank’s research in full-text on the website, and the think tank’s reputation and influence upon policy making. The list represents a mixture of partisan and non-partisan think tanks.
National Conference of State Legislatures
Find Policy
Open Think Tank Directory
Think Tank Review
Open Research Reports from JSTOR
More than 39,000 research reports from over 140 policy institutes around the world are freely accessible to everyone on JSTOR. The open research reports are discoverable alongside journals, books, and primary sources, and are clearly labeled as their own content type.